Connacht club SFC: Brigid's remain on course

November 12, 2012

Darragh Donnelly of St Brigids and Derek O'Flaherty of Salthill/Knocknacarra during the Connach Club SFC semi final at Pearse Stadium. INPHO
St. Brigid's (Roscommon) 0-15
Salthill-Knocknacarra (Galway) 0-8

St. Brigid's are just 60 minutes away from completing a three-in-a-row of AIB Connacht club SFC successes after Senan Kilbride inspired them to a comfortable victory over Salthill-Knocknacarra at Pearse Stadium.

Victory over Mayo champions Ballaghaderreen in two weeks' time would see the Kiltoom outfit move a step closer to emulating the feat of their south Roscommon rivals Clann na Gael, who won a remarkable six-in-a-row of provincial titles in the 1980s.

Managed by RTE pundit Kevin McStay, Brigid's never looked back after they scored five points without reply in the opening half to lead by double scores, 0-8 to 0-4, at the interval. The sides were level three times in the opening 10 minutes before Kilbride kick-started their scoring burst.

Having lost former Roscommon captain Gary Cox before the throw-in and key forward Seamie Crowe to injury after just six minutes, 2006 All-Ireland champions Salthill-Knocknacarra fell further in arrears on the restart when Frankie Dolan, Kilbride and Damien Kelleher tagged on points.

Galway star Sean Armstrong gave the hosts hope with three excellent points, but Brigid's never looked like losing and closed out the game thanks to some accurate place-kicking by Dolan.

St Brigid's - S Curran; R Stack, P Domican, J Murray; D Kelleher (0-1), D Donnelly (0-1), N Grehan (0-1); K Mannion, I Kilbride; G Cunniffe, G Dolan (0-1), E Sheedy; S Kilbride (0-5), F Dolan (0-6), R Blaine. Subs: D Sheehy for G Dolan, D Dolan for Blaine, Cathal McHugh for Grehan, Conor McHugh for Cunniffe.

Salthill-Knocknacarra - C Connolly; C Begley, F Hanley, K Conlon; C Halloran, G Canavan, D O'Flaherty; D Tierney (0-1), J Boylan; A Kerins, S Armstrong (0-5), C Healy; S Crowe, B Conlon, T Burke (0-1). Subs: E O'Mahony (0-1) for Crowe, S Gavin for O'Mahony, R Conlon for Burke, G O' Leidhinn for O'Flaherty, B Malone for B Conlon.

Referee - Michael Duffy.

Most Read Stories