Lisbellaw make it six in a row

August 29, 2011
Lisbellaw 2-10
Lisnaskea 0-9

Lisbellaw claim sixth successive Fermanagh Senior Hurling Championship title after a hard fought encounter against rivals Lisnaskea at Brewster Park, Enniskillen. Lisbellaw were first on the scoreboard with a Declan McGarry free after 3 minutes of play but it was Lisnaskea who looked the more impressive in the opening half with five frees from Paul McGoldrick and a point from David McGorman in the next 20 minutes of play with Lisbellaw only managing a single point from Brendan McGarry. With 25 minutes of play gone Lisnaskea lead by 0-6 to Lisbellaw's 0-2, but the defending champions sprung into life with 1-4 in the closing minutes of the first half, with Karl Kehoe hitting the net after Lisnaskea failed to clear their lines. After working hard in the first half Lisnaskea would have been disappointed to go in behind by 1-6 to 0-6 at the break.

Lisbellaw started the second half as they left off, with four points in the opening seven minutes of the second half, with Brendan McGarry hitting over two impressive points within 30 seconds of each other. Lisnaskea were not going to go down easily with Paul McGoldirck hitting two further frees and veteran Jason McManus hitting a fine point to put Lisnaskea four behind heading into the last 10 minutes. Lisbellaw sealed the game with only a few minutes left when sub Dermott Curran got his hurl on the end of a long ball in to flick the sliotar past Lisnaskea keeper Mark Curry. It was a disappointing end for Lisnaskea with their top scorer Paul McGoldrick shown a straight red card by referee James Clarke with time nearly up, Lisbellaw finished the game with a Brendan McGarry point, winning on a final score of Lisballaw 2-10, Lisnaskea 0-9 and captain Andrew Breslin lifted the McKeown Cup from County Hurling Chairman Peter Bogue. Earlier the U16's of Lisbellaw made it a double as they were too strong for the Knock Grattan's in the U16 Hurling Championship final.

Teams: Lisbellaw: D.McPhilips, C.McTeague, C.McGarry, J.P.McGarry, D.Teague, F.Bannon, K.Kehoe (1-0), A.Breslin, R.Poterous, P.Timoney, B.McGarry (0-5), C.Rice, P.McCarney, D.McGarry (0-3, 1F), S.Corrigan (0-2). Subs: D.Curran (1-0) for P.McCarney, O.McShea for K.Kehoe, N.Carson for R.Porteous and M.Slevin for C.Rice.

Lisnaskea: M.Curry, J.Rice, M.Curran, E.Mahon, C.Caulfield, F.McBrien, P.Teague, B.Smith, E.Curran, S.Curran, J.McManus (0-1), P.McGoldrick (0-7F), D.McGorman (0-1), K.Mohan and S.Smith. Subs: N.Lunney for E.Curran.

Most Read Stories