Gerry Reilly U-16 FT final

July 21, 2007
This is the 19th anniversary of the Gerry Reilly Memorial U-16 Inter-County Football Tournament and sees the defending champions, Dublin taking on arch rivals Meath in the final on Sunday next, 29 July in Oldcastle. When the two teams met earlier in Round 2, it was Meath who came out on top on a scoreline of 1-15 to 0-13 in a great game. No doubt Dublin feel that they can turn the tables this time and retain the title, but Meath will be determined to lift the trophy they last won in 2003. Fixture Sunday, 29 July at 7.00 pm Gerry Reilly U-16 FT Final Meath v Dublin (At Oldcastle) The competition has proved a great success in providing a platform to launch inter-county football careers. Valu - Kitchens & Bedrooms from Gleneagle are the Main Sponsors of the tournament. The 'Man of the Match' award is kindly sponsored for every game in the tournament by Peter and Patricia Caffrey of Interior Creations Ltd., Oldcastle. When they last met: Gerry Reilly U-16 FT - Round 2 Report Meath 1-15 Dublin 0-13 The large crowd present were treated to a cracking game of football which saw Meath overcome Dublin in the Gerry Reilly U-16 FT played in Oldcastle on Sunday evening (1 July). Rain before the start, as well as heavy rain earlier in the day seemed to make no difference to both teams as they showed great skills and determination. A David Larkin point from a free opened the scoring and followed by a point from play by Mark O'Sullivan to put Meath 2 points up. Darragh Stapleton levelled matters with 2 pointed frees for Dublin. Meath were very much in the ascendancy at this stage and added 8 more points to their tally to Dublin's 2 additional points before the break. This included some fantastic points from play. H/T: Meath 0-10 Dublin 0-4 An Emmet Boyle point put Meath further ahead on the re-start, but then Dublin came much more into the game. Dublin added 3 unanswered points to their tally and in this period Meath's 'keeper, Cillian Comaskey, brought off a marvellous save. Substitute, Cathal Hilliard, steadied things for Meath with a fine point. This was followed by what turned out to be the crucial score when Padraig McKeever found the Dublin net after a long run. Dublin put a lot of pressure on the Meath defence and again were thwarted by great saves from the Meath 'keeper. Play was literally flying up and down the field with Dublin adding 5 points to Meath's three after the goal. No doubt both counties have some great prospects for the future. Meath's Padraig McKeever received the 'Man of the match' award on a night when there were many from both teams with a strong case for the honour Scorers for Meath: Padraig McKeever 1-3, David Larkin 0-5, Harrison Silke 0-3, Emmet Boyle, Mark O'Sullivan, Damien Carroll and Cathal Hilliard 0-1 each Scorers for Dublin: Darragh Stapleton and Adam Baxter 0-5 each, Gary Sweeney 0-2, Odram O'Naoileiligh 0-1 Meath: Cillian Comaskey, David Coyle, Ciaran Lenehan, Tom Rahill, Kevin Mallon, Eoin Murray, Mark McCormack, Damien Carroll, Brian Menton, Mark O¹Sullivan, Gavin Kennedy, Padraig McKeever, Emmett Boyle, Harrison Silke, David Larkin Subs: Cathal Hillard for Murray, Fiachra Ross for O'Sullivan, Darragh Maguire for Ross, Cormac Keegan for Coyle, Shane Gillespie for Larkin Dublin: Conor Quinn, Michael Conncarr, Sam McGuinness, Ian O'Carroll, Glen Hazley, Ciaran Harney, Mark Schutte, Eoghan Keogh, Stephen O'Kelly, Gareth O'Callaghan, Gary Sweeney, Gerry Dodrill, Conor O'Brien, Darragh Stapleton, Odhran O'Naoileiligh, Subs: Adam Baxter for O'Brien, Eoin Moriarty for O'Callaghan, Killian Doherty for Dodrill, Stephen O'Connor for O'Naoileiligh Ref: Martin Higgins (Fermanagh) Gerry Reilly This tournament commemorates Gerry Reilly who was killed tragically in December '87 at 16 years of age, and he had already proved to be a great footballer with huge potential to go on to great heights in the game. 'Round Robin' Results - Gerry Reilly Memorial U-16 FT 2007 Sat. 23 June Dublin 2-11 Kildare 1-5 Sun. 24 June Meath 1-9 Westmeath 0-8 Sat. 30 June Westmeath 1-12 Kildare 0-11 Sun. 1 July Meath 1-15 Dublin 0-13 Sun. 8 July Meath 5-11 Kildare 0-8 Sun. 8 July Dublin 2-11 Westmeath 1-13 (AET) Winners of the Gerry Reilly Cup to date: Westmeath 1990, 1992, 1994, 1999, 2000, 2001 Meath 1989, 1991, 1995, 1996, 2002, 2003 Dublin 1993, 1998 2006 Cavan 1997, 2004, 2005

Most Read Stories