Leinster Club SFC final: Ballymun savour historic success

December 10, 2012

Portlaoise's Paul Cotter and Kevin Leahy of Ballymun Kickhams during the Leinster Club SFC Final at Cusack park Mullingar. INPHO

Ballymun Kickhams claimed their first ever Leinster Club SFC title with a merited three-point victory over Portlaoise in Mullingar yesterday.

In the process, the Dublin champions gained revenge for their defeat at the hands of the same opposition in their only previous final appearance thirty years ago.

Ballymun's defence was superb as they moved into a 0-6 to 0-2 lead by the halfway stage.

Portlaoise opened the scoring in the 2nd minute courtesy of Brian McCormack but they failed to score again until the 30th minute when Cahir Healy fisted over a point.

Paul Curran's charges increased their advantage to 0-9 to 0-3 in the second half but Portlaoise finished strongly with the repositioning of Healy to centre-back central to their comeback.

They were, however, frustrated in their attempts by the resolute defending of Ballymun who held on for a historic success.

Ballymun Kickhams - S Currie; Enda Dolan, P McMahon, Eoin Dolan; A Hubbard, K Connolly (0-1), J Burke; Davy Byrne, J McCarthy; E Reilly, K Leahy (0-1), J Whelan (0-2); T Furman (0-1), D Rock (0-6), S Forde. Subs: Derek Byrne for Forde, S George for Reilly, A O'Brien for Furman, J Small for Leahy.

Portlaoise - M Nolan; B Mulligan, C Healy (0-2), T Fitzgerald; P Cotter, K Lillis, C Rogers; A Kelly, C Boyle; H Coughlan, B Fitzgerald (0-2), B Glynn (0-1); B McCormack (0-2), P Cahillane (0-1), B Smith. Subs: K Fitzpatrick for Kelly, B Gaynor for Mulligan, E Whelan for Smith, R Maher for Cahillane.

Referee - D Gough.

Most Read Stories