Dublin SHC: Ballyboden do the double

November 02, 2009

Ballyboden captain Malachy Travers celebrates.
Ballyboden St. Enda's became the first club since St. Vincent's in 1981 to complete a Dublin senior hurling and football championship double following their hurling final victory over Craobh Chiarain at Parnell Park yesterday. Ballyboden St. Enda's1-16 Craobh Chiarain..0-12 The success was also significant as it was the third year in succession that Ballyboden have claimed Dublin SHC honours. Star of the show was young corner forward Paul Ryan whose personal tally of 1-11 eclipsed All-Star Alan McCrabbe, who hit 0-7 from placed balls for the losers. Ryan scored 0-5 from frees in the first half to give the Firhouse Road men a 0-9 to 0-7 interval lead. A point from veteran Johnny McGuirk brought Craobh Chiarain to within a point on the restart, but Ryan's accuracy from placed balls, coupled with a Shane Durkin point, kept the holders in the driving seat. Craobh remained in the game until 12 minutes from the end when Ryan showed a cool head to flick the ball past goalkeeper Stephen Chester to give 'Boden a 1-14 to 0-11 advantage, and there was no way back for the Donnycarney men after that. Ballyboden St Enda's - G Maguire; J Duffy, S Perkins, A Ryan; M Travers, D Spain (0-1), T Sweeney; S Durkin (0-1), D O'Connor; D Sweeney, D Curtin (0-1), C Keaney (0-2); N McMorrow, S Lambert, P Ryan (1-11, 7f, 3 65s). Subs: M O'Sullivan for A Ryan (51), E Carroll for McMorrow (58), J Doody for O'Connor (60), M Griffin for Sweeney (61), B Kennedy for Curtin (65). Craobh Chiarain - S Chester; Damien O'Reilly, E Farrell, D Shanley; D Kelly, Derek O'Reilly, G Kelly; A McCrabbe (0-7, frees), K Elliott; D Kirwan, J McGuirk (0-1), P O'Boyle (0-1); K Warren (0-1), D Keane, S McDonald (0-2). Subs: J Ryan for Shanley (50), F Usanga for Keane (50). Ref: E Mullarkey (Lucan Sarsfields)

Most Read Stories