Ulster Club SFC: Holders safely through to last eight

October 18, 2015

Derrygonnelly's Conal Jones and Slaughtneil's Patsy Bradley.
©INPHO/Presseye/Lorcan Doherty.

Slaughtneil (Derry) 4-13
Derrygonnelly (Fermanagh) 1-4

Slaughtneil got the defence of their Ulster Club SFC title off to a winning start at the expense of Fermanagh champions Derrygonnelly in today's preliminary round clash at Owenbeg.

Cormac O'Doherty gave the holders the perfect start when pouncing for the first of their three opening half goals after just 52 seconds and they never looked back.

Chrissy Bradley raised two green flags during that period while Paul Ward pulled one back for the Ernesiders who trailed by 1-3 to 3-3 at the halfway stage.

Mickey Moran's men ran out convincing 18 point winners after Karl McKaigue finished a one-two with Se McGuigan to the top corner of the Derrygonnelly net in the 53rd minute.

The Oak Leaf standard bearers now advance to a last eight clash against Scotstown who were crowned Monaghan champions today.

Slaughtneil - A McMullan; Francis McEldowney, B Rodgers, K McKaigue (1-0); P McNeill, C McKaigue (0-1), B McGuigan (0-1); Patsy Bradley (0-1), P Cassidy; P Kelly (0-1), Paul Bradley (0-3, 2f), R Bradley; C Bradley (2-3, 0-1f), S McGuigan (0-1), C O'Doherty (1-2). Subs: S Cassidy for R Bradley (BC), Fergal McEldowney for P Kelly, C Cassidy for B McGuigan, P Kearney for Francis McEldowney.

Derrygonnelly - D Feely; M Jones, T Daly, E McHugh; D Greene, S Burns, G McGinley; Shane McGullion, R Jones; D Cassidy (0-1), P Ward (1-1), G Jones; L Jones (0-2f), Stephen McGullion, C Jones. Subs: M Cassidy for Shane McGullion, G McKenna for G Jones, N Gallagher for D Greene, J McGurn for Stephen McGullion, R Leonard for S Burns, N Gilleece for L Jones.

Referee - M McNally.

Most Read Stories