Derry SFC final: Slaughtneil do the 'double double'

October 04, 2015

Slaughtneil's Frank McEldowney and Eoghan Rua's Ciaran McGoldrick

Slaughtneil 1-7

Coleraine 0-9

Se McGuigan's 41st minute goal proved all-important as Slaughtneil withstood a late Coleraine rally at Celtic Park to complete the 'double double' in Derry.

The Robert Emmets retained their county hurling crown a few weeks ago and today their footballers also maintained their grip on the John McLaughlin Cup. They will now set their sights on putting Ulster titles back-to-back.

The winners had opened up a 0-3 to 0-1 lead before Gavan McWilliams levelled for Coleraine in the 17th minute. Francis McEldowney was denied by the crossbar before Paul Bradley's second free gave Slaughtneil a 0-4 to 0-3 lead at the break.

McGuigan put daylight between the sides when he punched Paul Bradley's free to the net to make it 1-6 to 0-3, but that score only sparked Eoghan Rua into life as they reeled off five unanswered points to trail by 1-7 to 0-8 with nine minutes remaining.

Coleraine's Ciaran Lenehan had a goal chance late on, but had to settle for a point from only six yards out as the men in maroon clung on for another county title.

Slaughtneil - A McMullan; Francis McEldowney, B ­Rogers, K McKaigue; P McNeill, C McKaigue, B McGuigan; Patsy Bradley, P Cassidy; P Kelly (0-1f), Paul Bradley (0-4, 3f), R Bradley (0-1); C Bradley (0-1), Se McGuigan (1-0), C O'Doherty. Subs: Shane McGuigan for C O'Doherty, M McGrath for P Kelly.

Coleraine - R McGeough; C Mullan, L McGoldrick, C Lagan; R Mooney, S L McGoldrick (0-1), R Carey; N Holly, B ­McGoldrick (0-1f); C Lenehan (0-1), D Mullan, S Coyles (0-1); Ciaran ­McGoldrick, Colm McGoldrick (0-3, 2f), G McWilliams (0-1). Subs: C Carey (0-1) for Ciaran McGoldrick, J Diamond for C Lagan (BC), S Heneghan for S Coyles.

Referee - D O'Neill.


Most Read Stories