Ulster club SFC: Slaughtneil reach first final

November 16, 2014

Slaughtneil's Ronan Bradley

Slaughtneil (Derry) 1-9

Clontibret (Monaghan) 0-7

Paul Bradley scored 0-6 and Christopher Bradley raised the only green flag as Slaughtneil overcame Clontibret at Healy Park to reach their first Ulster club football final.

The Derry champions will face Omagh St. Enda's in the decider after leading from start to finish. They had opened up a 0-3 to 0-0 lead through points from Ronan Bradley, Paul Bradley and Cormac O'Doherty before Conor McManus replied with a brace for the Monaghan kingpins.

After Ryan McGuigan missed a goal chance for Clontibret, Paul Bradley responded with further scores to leave Slaughtneil 0-5 to 0-3 in front at the break.

The winners' tightened their grip on proceedings when Christopher Bradley blasted to the bottom corner of the Clontibret net two minutes after the restart.

The Saffrons had the margin down to three at the end of the third quarter thanks to a McManus double, but Slaughtneil weren't to be denied as Paul Bradley added two more points to seal their win as Clontibret lost the experienced JP Mone to a black card late on.

Slaughtneil - A McMullan; C Cassidy, F McEldowney, K McKaigue; B McGuigan C McKaigue, G Bradley; Patsy Bradley, P McGuigan; P Kelly, C Bradley (1-1), R Bradley (0-1); C O'Doherty (0-1), Paul Bradley (0-6, 3f), S McGuigan. Subs: P McNeill for P McGuigan.

Clontibret - C Fadian; D Mooney, C Greenan, D Savage; D Mone, C Boyle, P McGuigan; V Corey, E Greenan; M Corey, C McManus (0-6, 5f), A Curran; C Lavelle, B Greenan, R McGuigan. Subs: F Mone for A Curran, P Boyle for D Savage, JP Mone for C Lavelle, F Greenan (0-1) for E Greenan, L Savage for JP Mone (BC).

Referee - P Hughes.

Most Read Stories