Cassidy shakes things up

December 01, 2009

Damien Cassidy
Derry football manager Damian Cassidy has rung the changes by introducing 15 new players to his squad for the upcoming Dr McKenna Cup campaign. Among the newcomers are Ciaran Mullan (Coleraine), Mark Craig (Dungiven), Gavin McLaughlin (Dungiven), Michael McGoldrick (Bellaghy), John O'Kane (Glenullin), Charlie Kielt (Kilrea), Michael Bateson (Newbridge), Martin Dunne (Steelstown), PJ McCloskey (Banagher), Andrew McCartney (Ballymaguigan), Declan Mullan (Coleraine) and Raymond Wilkinson (Ballinderry). McGoldrick and Wilkinson have played in the championship before, but weren't involved last season. McGoldrick, who recently returned from a spell in Australia, will be expected to fill the void left by former All-Star full back Sean Marty Lockhart, who has retired from inter-county football. Dual star Liam Hinphey has also returned from Australia and has been named in Cassidy's squad, despite the fact that he is also part of the UUJ squad. Regulars Brian Og McAlary, James Kielt and Dermot McBride weren't considered due to their involvement with Queen's, while UUJ have first call on Caolan O'Boyle. Other regulars such as Kevin McGuckin, Barry Gillis, Barry McGoldrick, Sean Leo McGoldrick, Collie Devlin and Enda Lynn won't play in the McKenna Cup, but are expected to return for the National League. Derry (SF panel for McKenna Cup): J Deighan, C Mullan, G McLaughlin, M McGoldrick, B McGuigan, J O'Kane, L Hinphey, N McCusker, G O'Kane, C Kielt, M Bateson, F Doherty, P Bradley, J Diver, M Dunne, PJ McCloskey, A McCartney, D Mullan, R Wilkinson, A McLaughlin, E Brown, S Cleary, P Bradley, E Bradley, K O'Neill, S Bradley, B Mullan, G McShane, M Lynch.

Most Read Stories