Ulster club SFC: Relentless Ballinderry blow Gaels away

November 17, 2008
Ballinderry Shamrocks 0-17 Cavan Gaels 0-7 Ballinderry took their place in their first provincial decider since 2006, after a relentless second-half performance at the Athletic Grounds, Armagh, left them with 10 points to spare over Cavan Gaels yesterday. After the two sides had went in at the interval deadlocked on 0-5 apiece, the Cavan champions struck for the opening score of the second-half through minor star Niall Murray but from their the Shamrocks never looked back and scored 10 points on the trot in the remaining half-hour to book their Ulster final place against champions Crossmaglen. The Derry men got off to the better start in the match with the sublime pairing of Raymond Wilkinson and Martin Harney pointing them into an early lead. Ace forward Sean Johnston got the Gaels level afterwards, but had to limp off after just 10 minutes due to the recurrence of a hamstring injury he suffered in his club side's league final victory the previous weekend. Johnston's replacement Conor McClarey edged Mick O'Dowd's men in front towards the quarter before fellow Cavan minor Robert Maloney-Derham split the points of Wilkinson and Enda Muldoon to send the sides in level at the break. Murray lashed over a point moments into the restart, but it would be the last lead the Gaels would hold in the Ulster SFC this year as Colin Devlin equalised two minutes later to spark a trouncing. The following 20 minutes saw Ballinderry kick 10 unanswered points as Devlin, Wilkinson, Muldoon, Darren Conway, Martin Harney and James Bateson all found their range before Micheál Lyng's point was cancelled out by Michael Bell before the long whistle.

Most Read Stories