First title for Newtownshandrum

October 16, 2000
Newtownshandrum.........................0-14 Erin's Own.......................................0-11 Newtownshandrum clinched their first ever Cork SHC title amid a cloud of controversy at Pairc Ui Chaoimh on Sunday last. Leading by two points entering injury time, Newtown conceded a penalty when Sean Dunne was pulled down in the square. Erin's Own goalkeeper Kieran Murphy made the long trek forward to take the shot but his weak effort was parried away by the defenders standing on the line. Murphy and corner forward Tomas O'Leary did manage to bundle the rebound to the net but the goal was disallowed by referee Diarmuid Kirwan who awarded a free out for a foul on defender Philip Noonan. Newtown then surged downfield and a free from inter-county star Ben O'Conner clinched the title for the north Cork side. There was no doubting the merit of Newtown's win, though they did make hard work of it against an Erin's Own team which relied heavily on the free-taking of John Corcoran for scores. Newtown led 0-9 to 0-8 at the break having played against a stiff breeze though Erin's Own did score the last four points of the half to set up a fascinating second period. Mark O'Connor restored parity in the 35th minute before the O'Connor twins, Ben and Jerry, nudged Newtown ahead, 0-12 to 0-9, with only 12 minutes remaining. Corcoran kept Erin's Own in touch only for the disallowed goal to ruin their dreams of a second ever title in a contest that failed to live up to its pre-match billing. Newtownshandrum - P Morrissey; J Griffin, B Mulcahy, J McCarthy; A O'Brien, P Mulcahy (0-1), P Noonan; I Kelleher, D Murphy (0-2); J King, M Morrissey (0-1); J O'Connor (0-3), B Troy, D Mulcahy (0-1), B O'Connor (0-6). Sub: D Riordan. Erin's Own - K Murphy; T O'Keeffe, M Dunne, D Mulcahy; T Kelleher, B Corcoran, S Murphy; F Horgan, P Kelly; K Murphy, M O'Connor (0-3), J Corcoran (0-7); S Dunne, P Geasley, T O'Leary (0-1). Subs: F Murphy, K O'Shea.

Most Read Stories