Munster club SFC: Castlehaven cruise into last four

November 05, 2012

Castlehaven's Brian Hurley and Mike Boyce of Dromcollogher Broadford during the Munster Club Senior Football Championship Quarter-Final, Clonakilty. INPHO
Castlehaven (Cork) 1-15
Dromcollogher-Broadford (Limerick) 0-7

A Shane Nolan goal helped Cork champions Castlehaven secure their semi-final berth in the Munster club senior football championship yesterday and show Dromcollogher-Broadford the exit door.

The winners hit the ground running in Clonakilty, opening up a 0-6 to nothing lead with Dermot Hurley, Stephen Hurley, Mark Collins, Brian Hurley (2) and Alan Cahalane all on target. The Limerick men fought back to cut the deficit down to 0-7 to 0-4 by the interval, but their opponents still outscored them by 0-3 to 0-2 by the time the game's salient moment arrived.

Dromcollogher-Broadford were still in with a shout with 11 minutes to go, but when Sean Dineen set-up substitute Nolan for the net they were dealt a massive blow and before the resultant kick-out could even be taken they'd be reduced to 14 men. After a tussle with Hurley, midfielder Mike Boyce was issued a straight red-card and all hope was lost for the Limerick champions.

From there, Castlehaven would make the most of the numerical advantage to strike five points in-a-row in an impressive finish, which will see them enter the last four of the province with plenty of confidence.

Castlehaven - P Hurley (0-1); D Limrick, L Collins, T O'Leary; R Whelton, D Cahalane, C Hayes; S Dineen, D Hurley (0-1); D Burns, M Collins (0-5), A Cahalane (0-1); M Cahalane, B Hurley (0-4), S Hurley (0-3). Subs: S Hurley for R Whelton, S Nolan (1-0) for D Burns, M Dineen for A Cahalane, S Collins for M Cahalane, E Dennehy for S Hurley.

Dromcollogher-Broadford - K Noonan; D O'Leary, T McLoughlin, C Fahy; G Noonan (0-1), E Barry, B Noonan; M Boyce, J Stokes (0-1); M Brosnan (0-1), P Donnelly, D McCarthy (0-1); R Lynch, G Egan, M Reidy (0-3). Subs: S Buckley for M Brosnan, K Noonan for D McCarthy, M O'Sullivan for B Noonan.

Referee - P O'Sullivan.

Most Read Stories