Cork SHC: Carrigtwohill bridge 93-year gap

October 03, 2011

Carrigtwohill's Niall McCarthy and Lorcan McLoughlin of CIT during the Cork Senior Hurling Championship Final at Pairc Ui Chaoimh
There were euphoric scenes at Pairc Ui Chaoimh after substitute Sean O'Farrell's last-minute point gave Carrigtwohill their first Cork SHC title in 93 years yesterday.

Carrigtwohill 0-15
CIT 1-11

A 100/1 shot to win the championship at the start of the year, the east Cork outfit defied the odds to edge a thrilling contest in front of a crowd of over 10,000. With long-serving county star Niall McCarthy to the fore, Carrig showed the greater desire in the second half, though the result could have been different had the students not shot 14 wides over the hour.

McCarthy brought the winners level on 0-11 to 1-8 in the 43rd minute after they had fallen two points in arrears, and then helped them to a two-point lead after captain Michael Fitzgerald also found the range. CIT captain Lorcan McLoughlin levelled for a fourth time from a free with three minutes remaining, but former county player O'Farrell had the final say for Carrigtwohill as the students failed to rescue the situation in the two minutes of added-on time.

Nine of CIT's 14 wides were registered in the first half as they struggled in the heavy underfoot conditions. Carrigtwohill, won the IHC just four years ago, weren't so wasteful and went into the break holding a 0-8 to 1-3 lead, with Fitzgerald and free-taker Tomas Hogan both on the mark. The CIT goal was scored by Cathal Casey in the 13th minute.

Four unanswered points from David Drake, substitute Tony Murphy, Pat O'Connor and Lorcan McLoughlin gave the students a great start to the second half, but Carrigtwohill responded by scoring four points of their own - including two from McCarthy - and they were never headed thereafter.

Scorers - Carrigtwohill: M Fitzgerald 0-6 (0-2f), T Hogan (0-2f 0-1 65), R White 0-3 each, N McCarthy 0-2, S O'Farrell 0-1. Cork IT: L McLoughlin 0-5 (0-2f, 0-2 65), C Casey 1-0, J Cronin, D Drake, M O'Sullivan, T Quaid (0-1f), T Murphy (0-f), P O'Connor 0-1 each.

CARRIGTWOHILL - W McCarthy; M Foley, P O'Sullivan, R Power; C O'Connell, N Furlong, M O'Riordan; D O'Mahony, S Flannery; T Hogan, N McCarthy, L O'Sullivan; S Kidney, R White, M Fitzgerald.Subs: S O'Farrell for Kidney (47), B Lordan for Hogan (58).

CORK IT - K Roche; J O'Callaghan, E Dillon, B Withers; L McLoughlin, R Cashman, B O'Sullivan; N Kelly, M O'Sullivan; J Cronin, D Drake, A Walsh; T Quaid, S O'Brien, C Casey. Subs: P O'Connor for Kelly (h-t), T Murphy for Quaid (37), J Sheehan for Drake (47), K Hallissey for O'Sullivan (53).

Ref - C Lyons (Nemo Rangers).

Most Read Stories