Cork name team for UCC test

January 21, 2011

Cork hurling manager Denis Walsh
Cork hurling manager Denis Walsh has named his starting line-up for Sunday afternoon's Waterford Crystal Cup clash with UCC at Pairc Ui Rinn.

The experimental nature of the Leesiders XV continues, with the team virtually unrecognisable from that which exited last summer's All-Ireland championship at the hands of Kilkenny.

Martin Coleman from Ballinhassig takes his place in goal behind a full back line of Paul O'Leary, Cian Fogarty and Brian Lawton.

Ray Ryan continues the process of trying to nail down the No 7 short vacated by the omission of Sean Og O hAilpin from the management's plans for 2011, while Graham Callanan will partner Brian Lawton at midfield.

Youghal's Bill Cooper fills the centre half forward berth while Jamie Coughlan, Seamus Harnedy and Brian Hartnett will man the full forward line.

The throw-in at Pairc Ui Rinn is at 2pm.

Cork (Waterford Crystal Cup v UCC, Sunday): Martin Coleman, Paul O Leary, Cian Fogarty, Shane Murphy, Christopher Joyce, Mark Ellis, Ray Ryan; Graham Callanan, Brian Lawton; Thomas Murray, Bill Cooper, Conor Lehane; Jamie Coughlan, Seamus Harnedy, Brian Hartnett.

Subs: Anthony Nash, Gavin Moylan, Patrick O'Mahony, Denis O'Sullivan, Cian McCarthy, Eoghan Murphy, Michael Cussen, Jamie Wall.

Most Read Stories