Clare capture McGrath Cup

December 04, 2000
Clare......0-11 London.....0-4 Clare had to dig deep to see off the challenge of a surprisingly resilient London team in the McGrath Cup final at Ruislip on Sunday. The Bannermen dominated the early exchanges but London, thanks to fine performances from goalkeeper David Feeley and half-back Pat Rafter, withstood the pressure and by half-time, only trailed by two points. In the end, it was the sharpshooting exploits of Denis Russell which secured the win for Clare, his six points proving the difference between the teams. London - D Feeney, C O'Murchu, P Rafter, N Barry, J Ryan, C Linnett, G Cassidy, T Murphy, R Quinn, F Cunningham, M Hession, J Power, K Jackman 0-3, S Lynch 0-1, M McConery. Subs - M Thompson for Power, P Joyce for Lynch, S Sheehan for McConomy. Clare - J Hanrahan, K Nuggent, N Hawes, E McGuane, M O'Connell, J Considine 0-1, P Smith, D Russell, D O'Sullivan, G Keane 0-2, D Russell 0-6, P McMahon, D O'Driscoll 0-1, P Hehir 0-1, D Molohan. Subs - N Meaney for Russell, C Mullen for McMahon. Referee - S Corridan (Kerry)

Most Read Stories