Carlow get motoring in O'Byrne Cup

January 16, 2008
A power-packed second half display propelled Carlow to a deserved 1-13 to 0-11 win over Wexford in a feisty O'Byrne Cup clash at Horswood last night. Carlow trailed by three points at the interval but turned matters around in storming fashion in the second half to run out impressive winners. Carlow had a very bright start to the match though, racing into a 1-4 to 0-1 lead by the 20th minute with David Byrne and Ray Walker highly influential in midfield for the would-be winners. Carlow's goal came in the 18th minute when Simon Rea lobbed a high ball forward that was collected by Eric McCormack who neatly lobbed the ball over Wexford 'keeper Anthony Masterson. Wexford came storming back though and hit nine unanswered points with Matty Forde lofting over two of them to kick start a fine comeback. Trailing by 1-4 to 0-10 at the start of the second half, Carlow again rolled up their sleeves and points from Mark Carpenter, Simon Rea and JJ Smith had the Barrowsiders on level terms by the 52nd minute. The Wexford defence continued to come under pressure and with 15 minutes Paul Bealin's side meandered their way into a 1-10 to 0-10 lead. Despite a Matty Forde free in the 60th minute, Carlow maintained the upper hand 'till the end to set up a semi-final clash with Dublin on Saturday next. Carlow - J Brennan; J Roche, H Hayden, M Nolan; P Cashin, J Kehoe, J Ryan; D Byrne, R Walker 0-1; R Sinnott, B Carbery 0-1, M Carpenter 0-3; S Rea 0-6, J Murphy, E McCormack 1-1. Subs - E Doyle for Kehoe; K Doyle for Roche; JJ Smith 0-1 for Amond; P Bambrick for Roche. Wexford - A Masterson; W Atkinson, M Gahan, D Walsh; N O'Sullivan, C Morris, B Malone; B Doyle, A Flynn 0-1; C Byrne 0-2, S Roche, P Curtis; B Brosnan 0-3, M Forde 0-4, R Barry. Subs - K Kennedy 0-1 for Murphy; J Hudson for Roche.

Most Read Stories