Rathvilly in seventh heaven

September 27, 2004
Rathvilly.......0-15 Fenagh..............1-7 Rathvilly produced a storming finish to overcome Fenagh in the replayed Carlow senior football final at Dr Cullen Park on Saturday, September 25. A point from midfielder Stephen O'Brien gave underdogs Fenagh a 1-6 to 0-8 lead in the 40th minute, but Rathvilly outscored them by 0-7 to 0-1 in the time remaining to run out comprehensive winners. It was Rathvilly's seventh title in all. Rathvilly led by 0-7 to 1-3 at the break with the Fenagh goal coming from midfielder Patrick Walsh in the 29th minute. Fenagh, who never won a senior championship before, battled back to take the lead on the restart, but the north county outfit took control in the final 20 minutes with points from JJ Smith, Francis Kelly, Brian Murphy, David Nolan and substitute Alan Kelly propelling them to victory. Rathvilly - A Doyle, K Byrne, Kieran Doyle, C Cole, P Curran 0-1, J Keogh, T Bolger, S Murphy, S Kavanagh 0-2, JJ Smith 0-4, M Ryan, F Kelly 0-2, B Murphy 0-3, Ken Doyle, D Nolan 0-2. Subs: A Kelly 0-1 for Ryan Fenagh - P Butler, J Nolan, C Hughes, M Nolan, F Murphy, V Fleming, M Farrell, P Walsh 1-1, S O'Brien 0-4, P Maher, T Walsh, B Cox, A Gaul, P Nolan, J Hickey 0-1. Subs: J Smithers for Murphy, M Murphy 0-1 for Farrell Referee - J Conway (Laois)

Most Read Stories