Carlow SFC: Rathvilly in seventh heaven

October 19, 2009
Rathvilly were crowned Carlow SFC winners for the seventh time following a double-scores victory over Old Leighlin at Dr Cullen Park. Rathvilly...2-8 Old Leighlin.0-7 The north county club laid the foundations for their victory late in the first half when they scored 1-2 without reply to take 1-5 to 0-3 lead into the break. The teams were level on 0-3 apiece when, in the 28th minute, Danny Molloy took a pass from full forward JJ Smith and blasted to the net. Former Aussie Rules player Brendan Murphy then added an excellent point from play and Alan Kelly followed up with another superb effort from a sideline kick to give Rathvilly a five-point advantage. Old Leighlin, who had recorded a surprise victory over O'Hanrahan's in the semi-final, tried hard to close the gap on the restart, but they couldn't get any closer than four points and it was left to Alan Kelly to seal the win for Rathvilly with their second goal in the final minute of normal time. Rathvilly - D Keogh; BJ Molloy, T Bolger, K. Byrne; J O'Donoghue, S Kavanagh, A Bolger; K Doyle, Brendan Murphy (0-1), Brian Murphy (0-1), A Kelly 1-1, 0-1 sideline) , E Finnegan, D Molloy (1-0), JJ Smith (0-4, three frees), G Dempsey (0-1). Subs : D O'Brien for Finnegan (28 mins), J Kehoe for Kavanagh (52 mins), D Nolan for Dempsey (52), P Curran for A Bolger (52), L Farrell for Molloy (59). Old Leighlin - J Clarke; R Burke, G Hickey, S Daly; C Brennan, J Hayden, S Kinsella; P Hickey (0-1), A Nolan (0-1); D Dowling (0-1), C Coughlan (0-1) , W Minchin; S Kinsella (0-2 two frees), D Bambrick (0-1) , M Brennan. Subs : D Kelly for C Brennan (38 mins), H. Gahan for Nolan (43 mins), J Nevin for Dowling (49 mins). Ref: P Ahern (O'Hanrahans).

Most Read Stories