Armagh SFC final: Cross' crush Harps for another title

October 19, 2014

Crossmaglen's Jamie Clarke celebrates scoring a goal

Crossmaglen 4-14
Armagh Harps 0-9

Crossmaglen have been crowned Armagh senior football champions for a fifth year in-a-row and a remarkable 18th time in 19 years after demolishing Armagh Harps at the Athletic Grounds.

The charges of Oisin McConville and John McEntee laid the foundations for their facile victory in the first half when two goals from Jamie Clarke helped propel them into a 2-7 to 0-1 interval lead. The first came after only four minutes and the gifted forward - who recently postponed plans to spend nine months in Spain - added a second shortly after coming back onto the pitch following an injury that had looked to have put an end to his afternoon.

It continued to be one-way traffic in the second half with Kyle Carragher and David McKenna adding further majors and Callum Cumiskey, Aaron Kernan, Kyle Brennan and Tony Kernan also keeping the scoreboard operator busy.

Crossmaglen will now meet Omagh, St. Enda's at Healy Park in a fortnight in the Ulster club SFC quarter-finals and, on this evidence, will be difficult to stop.

Crossmaglen - P Hearty; S Finnegan, J Morgan, P Hughes; A Kernan (0-3, 2f), P McKeown, C Cumiskey (0-3); J Hanratty, R Kelly; T Kernan (0-2), J Clarke (2-1), M Aherne; K Carragher (1-2), M McNamee, J Murtagh (0-1). Subs: D McKenna (1-1) for J Hanratty, K Brennan (0-1) for K Carragher, G Carragher for J Morgan, C O'Neill for S Finnegan, A Rushe for P Hughes, K McShane for R Kelly.

Armagh Harps - P Morrison; K Morris, C Lennon, C Coulter; M McConville, J McElroy, R McGrath; C Vernon, D McKenna (0-1); S McCoy, U Lennon (0-4f), K Loughran; R McShane, G Swift, P McCoy. Subs: C McKee for R McGrath, C White (0-2) for K Loughran, S Grimley (0-2) for G Swift, P Kelly for C Coulter, P Rafferty for P McCoy.

Referee - S Murray.

Most Read Stories