Antrim SFC final: Gall's equal record

September 30, 2013

Antrim and St Galls keeper Chris Kerr
St Gall's 0-12
Erin's Own, Cargin 0-11

St Gall's won a record equalling seventh consecutive Antrim SFC title at Ahoghill on Saturday when surviving a close shave against a brave Erin's Own, Cargin outfit.

The 2010 All-Ireland club champions hung on by the skin of their teeth after defender Conor Burke's arm came to their rescue by denying Tomas McCann a goal right at the death.

Cargin were also left to rue a missed penalty by goalkeeper Jimmy McNabb in the 35th minute.

His spot-kick was saved by his opposite number Chris Kerr and points from Conor McGourty (two) and Sean Kelly rubbed salt into Cargin's wounds.

Cargin fought back to restore parity with two minutes left on the clock but points from Terry O'Neill and Michael Pollock secured the silverware for the holders.

"I suppose, in the end, the team with the best footballers closed the game out," St Gall's manager Carl McCabe remarked to the Irish Independent after the final whistle.

"But we have a few very close shaves - I don't even know how that one was blocked at the end."

St Gall's - C Kerr; C Burke, A McClean, C Brady; J McGreevy, S Kelly (0-1), R Wilson; A Healy, A Gallagher; T O'Neill (0-1), K Niblock (0-3, 1f), N O'Neill (0-1); C McGourty (0-5, 3f), M Pollock (0-1), K Stewart. Subs: B Bradley for N O'Neill, S O'Hara for C McGourty, K McGourty for R Wilson, S McAreavey for K Stewart.

Erin's Own, Cargin - J McNabb; D McKeever, J Crozier, M Kane; J Laverty, K O'Boyle, R Devlin; P McCann, M McCann (0-1); K Close (0-5, 4f), T McCann (0-1f), E McGrogan; T Scullion, G O'Boyle (0-3, 1f), M Magill (0-1). Subs: G McCann for P McCann, J Carron for E McGrogan.

Referee - B Toland.

Most Read Stories