Gerry Reilly Cup: Big win for Royals

July 08, 2019

Meath's Oisin Keogh gets away from Jake Costello Westmeath during the Gerry Reilly Cup game in Millbrook.

Meath 7-14 Westmeath 0-8

Meath got off to flying start to the Gerry Reilly Leinster U16 FT Round 3 game played in Millbrook, Oldcastle. To view photos click here

Eoghan Frayne’s goal attempt was deflected out for a 45 by the Westmeath ‘keeper, Peter Dalton and Eoghan converted for the opening score.  

Oisin Keogh made it 2 points for Meath from a free.  Goals by Alan Bowden & Liam Stafford  was putting it up to Westmeath.  Alan Malynn got Westmeath’s first score with a fine point. Indeed he was unlucky soon after when is goal attempt  went just wide of the post. Westmeath added 4 points to their tally before the break , while Meath added 1-3 to their’s.

H/T: Meath 3-6 Westmeath 0-4

Westmeath added 2 points & Meath 4 points before Alan Bowden scored Meath’s 4th goal. Meath went on to finish strongly and the result was never in doubt. Both teams  brought on a lot of substitutes with unlimited substitution in force.

Next up for Meath is away to unbeaten Cill Dara  in Rd.4 (13 July Venue & Time TBC), while Westmeath’s next game is away to Cill Dara in Rd.5 (20 July).

Scorers for Meath:  Alan Bowden (2-2), John McDonagh (1-4),  Eoghan Frayne (0-4, 3f, 45),  Kian Lynch (1-1),  Liam Stafford,  Mark Coffey & Donal Commons (1-0) each,  Aaron Murphy (0-2) & Cormac Sheehy (0-1)

Scorers for Westmeath:  Alan Malynn(0-6, 2f & 45), Sean Leech & Callum Cruise (0-1) each

Meath: Adam Niven Simonstown; Ben Moran Summerhill, Sean O'Donoghue St Colmcille's, Godfrey Ehichoya St Colmcille's; Ben Donnelly Kilbride, Oisin Kelly Ratoath, Furzey Blake Dunsaughlin,Conor Grey Dunsaughlin, Cian Smyth Ratoath, John McDonagh Dunsaughlin, Oisin Keogh Skyrne,  Liam Stafford (Capt) St Colmcille's, Alan Bowden Duleek/Bellewstown, Eoghan FrayneSummerhill, Aaron Murphy Dunsaughlin

Subs:  Cathal Darby Seneschalstown;  Donal Commons Seneschalstown; 1Con Smith Bective;  Cormac Sheehy Meath Hill;  Zack McGovern Kilbride;  Mark Coffey Ballinabrackey;  Conor McDonnellSeneschalstown;  Fionn Smith Gaeil Colmcille;  Ross Reynolds; Walterstown;  Tagdh Hanrahan Simonstown;  Sean O'Connell Simonstown;  Josh Harris; Trim;  Kian Lynch Moynalty

Westmeath: Peter Dalton Lilliput Gaels, Ronan Aspell Maryland/Tang, Tom Cloonan  Caulry, David Weir Killucan, Tom Kellegher Tubberclare,  Jake Costello Shandonagh, Mikey Lynam St.Josephs, Darren McWade Shandonagh, Podge Quinn Coalstown/Kinnegad, David Aughey St.Lomans, Sean Leech Killucan, Mikey Moffat The Down,  Jack Cole.Coralstown/Kinnegad, Sammy Clarke Killucan, Alan Malynn Caulry

Subs: Senan Baker Caulry,Warric Kirby Lilliput Gaels; 19.Oliver McNamara Shamrocks; 20.Danny McCartan St Lomans; 21.Sean Carroll St.Marys/R-bridge,Callum Cruise Coralstown/Kinnegad;  Luke Whitney Moate All Whites; Jack Doran Ballynacargy; Jason McKeon Ballynacargy; Tomass Turks Shamrocks; Mark Cunningham Inny Gaels; Eoghan Hogan St.Lomans; Ben Killian Athlone

Ref: Seamus O’Connor

Most Read Stories