Crookedwood club notes

November 05, 2018

IHC County Final

Crookedwood 1-16 Clonkill 3-10. As they say, it could’ve gone either way, but a draw was probably the fairest result and neither side could complain at the final whistle. Both sides were deadlocked at the end of normal time after a dramatic finale to the all parish Intermediate final. The 1st half was basically a shootout between the two free-takers but the 2nd half opened up a bit. Clonkill scored three goals in quick succession to go seven points clear and left us with a mountain to climb. The lads showed great character to claw back the lead and go one up in injury time. But a lapse of concentration in the closing stages gave our opponents an equalising chance from a free and they duly took it. Team; Alan O’Mara, Mossy Brennan, Kevin Orme, Damien Grifferty, John Kiernan, Shane McGovern (1-0), Seamus Savage (0-1), Noel Kiernan, Eddie Nally, Brian McLoughlin (0-1), Noel Yourell (0-2), Ian McGovern (0-2), Conor.Savage, Ger Brennan, Barry O’Mara (0-11). Subs; Brendan McCarthy for C.Savage, Andy Boyhan for Kiernan, Ger McGovern for G.Brennan, Richie Crowley for Boyhan.

IHC final replay

Bank Holiday Monday was the day for the replay to decide the destination of the Adrian Murray cup for 2018. Clonkill, buoyed by their record equalling 15th Senior victory on Saturday, came with intentions of doing the double and raced into an early three-point lead. We clawed it back and went one up, but Gary Healy proved the thorn in side once again and fired in a goal to regain the initiative. Clonkill led at the break 1-5 to 0-7. Johnny Nally brought us level seconds after the re-start but once again Healy put Clonkill ahead. The same player then won a penalty but luckily for us it sailed over the bar. Three Wood points in a row followed to put us ahead again but once again Healy pounced for his second goal. However, as in the drawn match with our character in question, we responded in the best possible way. Four more points in a row had us two up as time ticked on. The evergreen Enda Loughlin slotted over a free to leave the minimum between the sides with the tension rising. Scores became scarce in the closing stages, but Brian McLoughlin had the final say and drove over a point in injury time. The final whistle sounded from the resulting puck out and we were champions, our third Intermediate championship. Joyous scenes followed, and the pitch was invaded by our loyal supporters. The Adrian Murray cup was presented to Kevin Orme by Patsy Murray and James Savage and the celebrations begun. Team; Alan O’Mara, Mossy Brennan, Kevin Orme, Damien Grifferty, John Kiernan, Shane McGovern, Seamus Savage, Eddie Nally, Ian McGovern (0-2), Brian McLoughlin (0-3), Noel Yourell, Johnny Nally (0-1), Conor.Savage (0-1), Barry O’Mara (0-8), Brendan McCarthy (0-1). Subs; Antoin Savage for T.Brennan, Enda Murray for N.Yourell, Ger Brennan for J.Nally, Richie Crowley for B.McCarthy.

Leinster Championship

We bowed out if the Leinster championship after being well beaten by a young, fast and skilful Na Fianna team. Having to play so soon after the brilliant victory last Monday didn't help but our lads gave it our all and the club is very proud of them. We would like to thank all players, the management team, backroom team and anyone who helped during the year for their massive efforts. Our main goal was achieved, and we can look forward to senior hurling in 2019.


Crookedwood GAA extends its deepest, heartfelt condolences to Enda, Eileen, Senan and TJ following the tragic death of little Annabelle Loughlin (RIP). Our thoughts and prayers are with the family at this very difficult time and we offer our deepest sympathies to the extended Loughlin & O'Driscoll families.

 Contact                                                                                                                         I can be contacted at [email protected] if anyone would like to have an item included in the notes, on the club website, ( or on Facebook. 

Most Read Stories