Mullingar Shamrocks Club Notes

October 08, 2018

Westmeath Senior Football Championship, Semi-Final:

Mullingar Shamrocks 0-10
Tyrrellspass 0-9
And so the journey continues, with this superb one point victory against favourites and unbeaten
Tyrrellspass in the semi-final. Another destination has been added to the itinerary: a county final
meeting with reigning champions and four-in-a-row seeking St Loman's scheduled for Cusack
Park on 21 October at 3.30 with Niall Ward in charge of the whistle. History will be created as
for the first time an all-Mullingar final will take place in what will be a magnificent occasion for
the town of Mullingar; history will also be repeated as we will again enter this final as total
Mullingar Shamrocks played with great commitment as we have done throughout this
championship year with the team's outstanding work rate backed-up with some excellent
individual displays. Conditions were extremely difficult as Shamrocks faced a strong wind in the
opening half and as in our previous must-win games, we began by putting two points on the
board in the opening two minutes and what valuable scores these proved to be. The first was
created by the combined play of Efe Siode and Dean Moore who created an opportunity for
Jordan Warde who was fouled. Denis Corroon's strike into the wind was good and what was a
difficult free secured Shamrocks opening score. Simon Quinn finished a fine combined move for
Shamrocks second score within a minute. Jordan Warde pointed in the ninth minute after a
speculative long range shot by Paddy Joyce was abandoned as a wide by everyone except
Daragh Daly. Daly alone spotted the potential of the wind to hold-up Joyce's shot and raced
across the goal to keep the ball in play without a challenger in sight. Several passes later Jordan
Warde finished for an unlikely point in the ninth minute (0-3 to 0-0).
Ger Egan pointed a long range free to open the Tyrrellspass account in the tenth minute and after
winning possession from the resultant kick-out, the same player pointed from play. In the next
attack, Denis Glennon was through on goal but opted for safety and popped the ball over to
level matters in the twelfth minute (0-3 each). Ger Egan added three more points to send
Tyrrellspass into a three point lead after twenty minutes. A good goal scoring opportunity was
spurned by Shamrocks at this stage before a great move that featured the magnificent Micheál
Curley prominently ended with another foul on Jordan Warde and Denis Corroon pointed the
resultant free. A Ger Egan '45' neutralised this effort (0-7 to 0-4). Shamrocks added another point
prior to the interval with a great sweeping move that began deep in defence with Kieran Gavin
and Killian Daly combining to set Alan Cashman free, he in turn found Denis Corroon. Denis
sent a pass deep into the corner where Dean Moore was alert to the possibilities. Jordan Warde
too played a part before Dean pointed for what was probably the Mullingar Shamrocks score of
the match. At half-time, Tyrrellspass held an 0-7 to 0-5 lead a satisfactory position from the
Shamrocks perspective given the conditions.
Shamrocks repeated their opening ten minutes on resumption by scoring three points to edge
ahead. Denis Corroon pointed a free, Efe Siode finished after Micheál Curley and Simon Quinn
combined to create the opening and Tye Adamson (who replaced the black carded Paddy Joyce
in the first-half) pointed a '45' to send Shamrocks into an 0-8 to 0-7 lead. Simon Quinn extended
this lead when he finished a move (Daragh Daly and Jordan Warde featured prominently) that

began in the Shamrocks goalmouth after a Ger Egan free had fallen short. A black card issued to
Denis Corroon (already on a yellow) reduced Shamrocks to fourteen men for the final fifteen
minutes. Points from Aaron O'Brien and Denis Glennon levelled matters before Tye Adamson
kicked Shamrocks into their first county final since 2014 with a second long range free in the
twenty-eight minute as the final disjoined minutes remained scoreless (0-10 to 0-8).
Mullingar Shamrocks: Philly Shaw; Eddie Moore, Kieran Gavin, Killian Daly; Paddy Joyce
(Tye Adamson 0-2), Micheál Curley, Efe Siode (0-1); Denis Corroon (0-3), Patrick Fagan;
Daragh Daly, Dónal O'Donoghue, Alan Cashman (Billy Flynn) (Conor Twomey); Jordan Warde
(0-1), Dean Moore (0-1)[Ciarán Curley] Simon Quinn (0-2) [Ross Corroon].

Healthy Club Launch ...
A superb morning in Springfield on Saturday as Mullingar Shamrocks inclusion in the GAA's
Healthy Club Project was officially launched. The Mullingar Town Band was on hand the mark
the occasion with a musical accompaniment as Frank Mescall (Healthy Club Officer,
Westmeath GAA) and Sarah McCormack (Lead Officer, Healthy Ireland) completed the
formalities of the launch; Sean Hynes (Chairman, Mullingar Shamrocks) and Joan Ormsby
(Healthy Club Officer, Mullingar Shamrocks) also addressed the audience. A MASSIVE thanks
to JOAN for her contribution to organising the Healthy Village concept. The turnout was
excellent, we thank the many health promoting agencies both voluntary and commercial who
attended and provided information on their health and wellbeing services.

Gaelic4Mothers & Others Blitz ...
On Saturday afternoon it was the turn of the Gaelic4Mothers & Others women to fly the
Mullingar Shamrocks flag when they hosted a blitz that also involved St Loman's, Delvin-St.
Paul's and Tyrrellspass. Each team played three matches and when the football ended all
involved moved to The Clubhouse where the legendary Mullingar Shamrocks hospitality was
again on display. The phrase is becoming a bit of a cliché at this stage but it is also totally true;
the amount and variety of food on offer was simply magnificent and drew appreciative
comments from all. The Galeic4Mothers & Others is a wonderful innovation that has added
significant value to the club as a social and fitness promoting unit.
Finally we wish a speedy recovery to Amy Kelly who suffered a knee injury in the opening
match against Delvin-St Paul's.
The Mullingar Shamrocks representatives were: Aileen Daly; Aimee Ford; Helen Hassett; Maria
Carroll; Ciara Keegan; Aoife Austin; Niamh Gilmartin; Emer Buckley; Joan Leonard; Yvonne
McNamee; Alma Casey; Laura Heap; Roisin Masterson; Amy Kelly; Marie Flood; Sheila
Aherne; Emma McCabe; Aisha Keegan; Jemma McNamee; Kelly Murtagh and Debbie Noonan.

Most Read Stories