Football qualifier draw: No home comforts for Mayo, Monaghan and Tyrone

June 11, 2018

Cillian O'Connor struck 3-9 in Mayo's victory over Limerick

The round 2 qualifier draw of the 2018 All-Ireland senior football championship took place this morning on Morning Ireland on RTE Radio 1 and involved all of the defeated provincial semi-finalists against the round 1 winners.

Mayo will be on the road again when they travel to Semple Stadium to take on Tipperary while, following their close call against Meath on Saturday, Mickey Harte and Tyrone will be up against Carlow in Netwatch Cullen Park.

Monaghan will aim to bounce back from the disappointment of their Ulster SFC semi-final exit at the hands of Fermanagh when they travel down to Waterford.

All-Ireland SFC round 2 qualifier draw

Tipperary v Mayo

Waterford v Monaghan

Cavan v Down

Carlow v Tyrone

Offaly v Clare

Kildare v Longford

Sligo v Armagh

Leitrim v Louth

The first team drawn has home advantage except where a Division 3 or 4 team from this year's Allianz league was drawn against a Division 1 or 2 team. That means, for example, that Kildare will have to travel to Glennon Bros Pearse Park to take on Longford.

The match venues and times will be confirmed by the GAA's CCCC this afternoon with the fixtures scheduled for the weekend of June 23/24.

All matches will be required to finish on the day under the new Championship protocols.

Most Read Stories