Munster Club JHC: 12-man Ardmore too strong for Ballybacon Grange

December 03, 2017

Waterford's Seamus Prendergast

Despite finishing with 12 players, Ardmore were crowned Munster Club junior hurling champions at Mallow today.

The Waterford representatives overcame Ballybacon Grange of Tipperary by 3-11 to 2-8.

Four players in total were sent off, three from Ardmore and one from the Premier County champions.

A late red card didn't take the gloss of an outstanding individual performance by former Deise star Seamus Prendergast who finished with 2-5 to his name.

David Gartland also raised a green flag for the winners while Tipperary goalkeeping great Brendan Cummins hit 1-2 (all from placed balls) for the losing outfit.

Prendergast & Co overcame the set-backs of losing Wayne Hennessy and goalkeeper Jack Walsh to red cards in the opening period to lead by the minimum margin - 1-7 to 1-6 - at the halfway stage and numerical disadvantage didn't prevent them from pulling away after the resumption.

Ardmore - J Walsh; N Hennessy, D Prendergast, D Power; G Williams, S Keating, R Hennessy; K Murphy, W Hennessy; J Flavin (0-2), D Gartland (1-1), J Gartland; J Kennedy (0-2), S Prendergast (2-5, 0-2f), K Conway. Subs: E O'Shea (0-1) for J Kennedy, J O'Donnell for K Conway, E Conway for J Gartland.

Ballybacon Grange - B Cummins (1-2, 1-1f, 0-1'65); P Walsh, B Walsh, C Carrigan; M Barlow, C O'Gorman, S Nagle; M O'Sullivan, B Dillon; D O'Regan (0-2), B Hewitt, G Cronin; A Savage (0-1), D Walsh (1-0), A Lonergan (0-3f). Subs: S Lambert for P Walsh, G Whelan for J Cronin, J English for A Savage, C O'Shaughessy for C Carrigan, J O'Mahoney for M O'Sullivan.

Referee - N Wall.

Most Read Stories