HS hurling team of the week

July 01, 2019

The Kilkenny and Wexford teams parade before the Leinster SHC final at Croke Park. ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

The supporters of Limerick and Wexford have a pep in their step today. Here is our hurling team of the week...

1. Brian Hogan (Tipperary)

It was a close call but Hogan gets the nod ahead of Limerick’s Nickie Quaid and Wexford’s penalty hero Mark Fanning.

2. Brendan Maher (Tipperary)

Handed the considerable task of curbing Aaron Gillane’s influence, Maher didn’t let his side down.

3. Sean Finn (Limerick)

Finn exemplified Limerick’s defiant defensive display against Tipp’s much vaunted attacking division.

4. Shaun Murphy (Wexford)

Murphy and his defensive colleagues have every reason to be happy with their afternoon’s work at GAA HQ.

5. Diarmuid Byrnes (Limerick)

The Treaty County’s half-back line provided the launchpad for their 12-point success.

6. Declan Hannon (Limerick)

The captain provided extra cover for his full-back line and the Premier County ran out of attacking ideas after the break.

7. Dan Morrissey (Limerick)

Morrissey and his team-mates issued a warning to all pretenders to their All-Ireland throne.

8. Kevin Foley (Wexford)

Played the sweeper role to telling effect as Wexford got their hands on the Bob O’Keeffe Cup.

9. Cian Lynch (Limerick)

The ‘Hurler of the Year’ came out on top in the midfield battle with William O’Donoghue providing plenty of back-up.

10. Lee Chin (Wexford)

The joint-captain’s accuracy from placed balls and leadership qualities were key ingredients in the Model County’s long-awaited provincial success.

11. Kyle Hayes (Limerick)

The 21-year-old made life extremely uncomfortable for Padraic Maher and finished the game with 1-2 to his name.

12. Rory O’Connor (Wexford)

The St Martin’s clubman sent over four points and won the match-decisive second-half penalty.

13. TJ Reid (Kilkenny)

The Cats’ over reliance on the Ballyhale Shamrocks ace was very much in evidence at Croke Park as he accumulated an individual haul of 0-12 (four points from play).

14. Peter Casey (Limerick)

Pick-pocketed Tipp to the tune of 1-5 and also set up Kyle Hayes for their second goal in the 55th minute.

15. Mark Kavanagh (Laois)

Kavanagh led the Westmeath defence a merry dance as the O’Moore County emerged victorious on a scoreline of 3-26 to 1-21 in the Joe McDonagh Cup decider.

Most Read Stories