All-Ireland Club IFC: Dreams come true for Moy in Croker

February 03, 2018

Harry Loughran of Moy Tír Na nÓg in action against Neil Morris (Michael Glaveys) at Croke Park

Moy are celebrating this evening after getting their hands on the All-Ireland Club IFC silverware at Croke Park.

The Tyrone men proved too strong for Michael Glavey's of Roscommon in today's decider which finished 1-10 to 0-7 in their favour.

The winners quite literally grabbed the game by the scruff of the neck straight from the throw-in with midfielder Tom Loughran finding the back of the Michael Glavey's net after just 30 seconds and they didn't let go until the final whistle was sounded.

Andrew Glennon kicked the Roscommon side's only score of the opening period and they went in at the break trailing by 0-1 to 1-5 after Sean Cavanagh brought the first-half scoring to a close with a free.

The experience of Cavanagh, who finished with five points to his name, and his brother Colm, who was awarded the 'man-of-the-match' accolade after the final whistle, was a key component of Moy's six-point success.

Michael Glavey's sent over a brace of points through Glennon and Stephen Comer before corner-forward Ryan Coleman opened Moy's second-half account with a fisted point.

Two Sean Cavanagh points (one from a free) eased the eventual winners into a 1-8 to 0-3 lead before the Roscommon team's midfielder Caoileain Fitzmaurice was shown a straight red card in the 43rd minute.

Despite being a man down, Michael Glavey's couldn't be faulted for effort in the final quarter but they were unable to find a way through a resolute Moy defence.

Moy - N Brady; P Mackle, T McNicholl, T Conlon; M Gribbin, N Conlon, E Deeney (0-1'45); C Cavanagh, T Loughran; D Conroy, H Loughran (1-1), E Rafferty; R Coleman (0-2), S Cavanagh (0-5f), A Currie. Subs: C Duffy (0-1) for D Conroy, A Donaghy for E Rafferty, K McQuade for R Coleman, D McKeown for A Currie, K Kavanagh for E Deeney, R O'Neill for T Conlon.

Michael Glavey's - D O'Malley; N Morris, S O'Malley, L Cregg; G Patterson, C Hussey, D Frayne; C Fitzmaurice, J Finan; T Murphy, S Comer (0-1), D Ruane; C Henaghan, A Glennon (0-6, 4f), C Duffy. Subs: T Murphy for C Henaghan, J Brennan for D Ruane, S Markham for L Cregg.

Referee - B Cawley.

Most Read Stories