Munster SHC: brilliant Banner eliminate Tipp

June 10, 2018

Clare's Shane O'Donnell and Joe O'Dwyer of Tipperary

Clare 1-23

Tipperary 1-21

Peter Duggan scored two injury-time points and Ian Galvin bagged a crucial 64th minute goal as Clare came from eight points down to register a first Munster SHC victory over Tipperary in Thurles in 90 years.

Duggan finished with 0-15 to his credit as the Banner knocked Tipp out of the championship in dramatic fashion. It was a red-letter day for Clare who produced agruably their best performance since beating Cork in the 2013 All-Ireland final replay. They showed the greater desire when it was needed as Tipp faded in the closing stages after a punishing schedule of four games in as many weeks.

The big turning point came six minutes from the end of normal time when Galvin netted mere seconds after Jake Morris had hit the post at the other end. Substitute Podge Collins played a huge part in the Banner's win, setting up the goal before firing over a late equalising point. Five minutes of injury-time were allotted, during which Noel McGrath edged Tipp back in front before Collins levelled and Duggan shot two from play, the last of which was an outrageous effort from near the sideline.

With a crowd of 20,782 looking on, Tipperary came flying out of the starting blocks to lead by 1-4 to 0-1 after 13 minutes with Billy McCarthy getting their goal after being set up by Patrick 'Bonner' Maher. Duggan's frees were keeping Clare in touch, but they were undermined by eight first half wides and a missed goal chance by Duggan.    

Tipp led by eight points after 25 minutes, but failed to score again in the first half as the visitors finished the half with four unanswered points from Tony Kelly (two) and Duggan (two frees) to trail by 0-9 to 1-10 at the interval.

Duggan continued to punish Tipp indiscipline after the restart, but it took Galvin's goal to make Clare believe they could win. It left only a point in it and the Banner were soon level thanks to a Duggan free in the third minute of stoppage-time.

It was breathless stuff as McGrath restored Tipp's lead, only for the visitors to finish with a flourish and set up a huge showdown with Limerick in Cusack Park next Sunday when a place in the Munster final on July 1 will be up for grabs.

Scorers - Clare: Peter Duggan 0-15 (13f), Ian Galvin 1-0, Podge Collins 0-3, John Conlon 0-2, Tony Kelly 0-2, Jack Browne 0-1. Tipperary: Jason Forde 0-10 (8f, 1 '65), Billy McCarthy 1-0, John McGrath 0-3, John McGrath 0-2, Seamus Callanan 0-2, Ronan Maher 0-1, Cathal Barrett 0-1, Padraic Maher 0-1, Patrick Maher 0-1.

Tipperary: Brian Hogan; Sean O'Brien, Seamus Kennedy, Donagh Maher; Joe O'Dwyer, Padraic Maher, Brendan Maher; Ronan Maher, Cathal Barrett; Dan McCormack, Patrick Maher, Billy McCarthy; Seamus Callanan, Jason Forde, John McGrath. Subs: Noel McGrath for Dan McCormack (9), Jake Morris for Patrick Bonner (60), Alan Flynn for Joe O'Dwyer (60), Willie Connors for Brendan Maher (67), John O'Dwyer for Billy McCarthy (70)

Clare: Donal Tuohy; Patrick O'Connor, David McInerney, Jack Browne; David Fitzgerald, Conor Cleary, Jamie Shanahan; Colm Galvin, Cathal Malone; Peter Duggan, Tony Kelly, David Reidy; Conor McGrath, John Conlon, Shane O'Donnell. Subs: Podge Collins for Conor McGrath (38), Seadna Morey for David Fitzgerald (47), Ian Galvin for David Reidy (59), Jason McCarthy for Cathal Malone (62), Darragh Corry for Colm Galvin (64)

Referee: Paud O'Dwyer (Carlow)

Most Read Stories