Munster SHC: top-class Tipp trounce sorry Banner

June 02, 2019

Tipperary's Seamus Callanan scores a goal despite the best efforts of Clare's Patrick O'Connor. ©INPHO/James Crombie.

Tipperary eased within touching distance of the Munster hurling final when walloping Clare by 3-21 to 0-17 at Ennis.

The Banner County's proud home record was ripped apart by a rampant Premier County outfit who assured themselves of a place in the All-Ireland series by virtue of a third successive provincial round-robin victory. A far cry from last year when they crashed out of the championship at the earliest possible juncture without winning a game in Munster!

With 18,316 in attendance, the sides shared ten points in as many minutes as early exchanges were keenly contested, but Tipp pulled away to lead by 1-14 to 0-11 at half time.

Noel McGrath scrambled the first goal and his brother John landed six points from play in a Man of the Match display.

Seamus Callanan (1-3) became his county's all-time record championship goalscorer, bagging his 30th championship major when he reacted quickest in the 40th minute after Jason Forde's free struck the woodwork, Patrick 'Bonner' Maher firing the third three-pointer for Liam Sheedy's slick side.

It was a day to forget for Clare, who failed to raise a gallop with the wind behind them in the second half, raising only six flags after the break, although Peter Duggan finished the game with 0-9 in brackets behind his name.

Tipperary - B Hogan; C Barrett, B Heffernan, A Flynn; R Maher, B Maher (0-1), Padraic Maher; N McGrath (1-2), M Breen; D McCormack, J O’Dwyer (0-1), Patrick Maher (1-2); J Forde (0-7f), S Callanan (1-2), J McGrath (0-6). Subs: W Connors for M Breen, J Morris for J O'Dwyer, R Byrne for R Maher, G Browne for D McCormack.

Clare - D Tuohy; S Morey, P O'Connor, D McInerney; C Malone, J Browne, D Fitzgerald (0-1); S Golden (0-1), C Galvin; P Duggan (0-9, 8f), T Kelly (0-3, 2f), D Ryan (0-1); P Collins (0-1), J Conlon, S O'Donnell. Subs: C Cleary for S Morey, A McCarthy (0-1) for P Duggan, G Cooney for J Conlon, A Shanagher for S O'Donnell, R Taylor for S Golden.

Referee - A Kelly.

Most Read Stories