Munster MHC: Clare see off Tipp for second win

June 02, 2019

Clare's Diarmuid Cahill and Conor O'Dwyer of Tipperary. ©INPHO/James Crombie.

Clare 2-13

Tipperary 1-9

Goals in either half form Diarmuid Cahill and Keith Smyth (penalty) propelled Clare to their second Munster MHC victory at Tipperary's expense in Ennis.

Fergal Lynch's were the better side throughout and led by 1-5 to 0-4 at the break after playing against the wind. Tipp led only once, 0-3 to 0-2, after Colm Fogarty pointed before Cian Gavin levelled on the quarter-hour mark.

Shane Meehan restored the Banner's advantage before Cahill netted after taking a return pass from Oisin O'Donnell. Jack Leamy and Cahill traded points thereafter as the winners took a four-point lead into the interval.

Clare tightened their grip on proceedings when Smyth converted a 34th minute penalty before Tony Butler's second point left them 2-6 to 0-6 to the good.

With eight minutes remaining, Kyle Shelly brought Tipp back into contention with a goal, but Clare replied with points from Conner Hegarty and Sean Ronan to seal the win.

Clare - A Shanahan; S Devanney, A Hogan, C McGroary; J Collins, C O'Meara, T Butler (0-2); O Clune, C Murphy; S Meehan (0-1f), C Galvin (0-1f), O O'Donnell; C Hegarty (0-4), D Cahill (1-1), K Smyth (1-2, 1-0pen, 0-2f). Subs: D Downes for C Murphy, S Ronan (0-2) for O O'Donnell, S Punch for K Smyth.

Tipperary - S Gleeson; S Loughran, C O'Dwyer, J Duncan; E Marnane, M Corcoran, P Creedon (0-1); L Shanahan, C Ryan; C Deeley, J Campion (0-2), J Leamy (0-3, 1'65); C Fogarty (0-1), T Cahill, P Kinane (0-1). Subs: M Power (0-1) for M Corcoran, C Lloyd for L Shanahan, L Seasy for C Ryan, K Shelly (1-0) for P Kinane, C McKelvey for C Deeley.

Referee - S Stokes.

Most Read Stories