Munster MHC final: Tipp take 40th title at Limerick's expense

July 01, 2018

Tipperary's Max Hackett and Patrick Kirby of Limerick.
©INPHO/James Crombie.

Tipperary are Munster minor hurling champions for the 40th time after a 1-20 to 1-12 victory over Limerick at Semple Stadium this afternoon.

A dominant first half performance laid the foundations for Tommy Dunne's young guns as they led their opponents by 0-12 to 0-7 at the break.

It was substitute Mikey O'Shea's 52nd minute goal that put the result beyond doubt after he collected a pass from the outstanding James Devaney who top scored for the winners with 0-8, including 0-6 in the first period.

Borris-Ileigh clubman Devaney was ably assisted by his forward colleague Sean Hayes (0-3), while Max Hackett and John Campion put in a workmanlike shift in midfield.

The sides were evenly matched after the opening ten minutes with 0-3 apiece, before a run of six points without reply saw the Premier County grab a foothold in the game and which would ultimately prove the difference in the end.

Tipperary's Johnny Ryan lifts the Munster MHC trophy. ©INPHO/James Crombie.

Those six unanswered points came between the 12th and 21st minutes and full-forward Ryan Renehan's sideline cut was the pick of them as Cormac Ryan ended a barren Limerick spell when registering their first score for 12 minutes.

Tipperary picked up where they left off upon the resumption, outscoring the Treaty County by 0-4 to 0-2 over the third quarter with Cian O'Farrell, Kian O'Kelly, Hackett and Devaney all on target.

Limerick came back with points from centre-forward Ryan and Cathal O'Neill but Antoin Power's side never looked like mounting a serious comeback and when O'Shea goaled it looked like there was only going to be one winner.

The losers did manage a goal of their own through substitute Bryan Nix deep into injury-time, however, it was a case of too little too late as Tipperary secured their third provincial minor crown in four years.

Tipperary - A Browne; K Hayes, C Whelan (0-1), C O'Dwyer; S Phelan (0-2), F Purcell, J Ryan; M Hackett (0-1), J Campion; R Renehan (0-1sl), C O'Farrell (0-2), K O'Kelly (0-1); S Hayes (0-3), D Ryan, J Devaney (0-8, 4f, 1'65). Subs: M O'Shea (1-1) for R Renehan, J Morrissey for J Campion, K Maher for M Hackett, B O'Connor for D Ryan, F Hanafin for S Phelan.

Limerick - B Heavey; P Harnett, B Herlihy, M Keane; E O'Mahony, E McEvoy, J Nicholas; P Kirby (0-1), B O'Connor (0-1); C O'Neill (0-6, 5f), C Ryan (0-3), B Purcell (0-1); C Coughlan, D Hegarty, D O'Leary. Subs: B Nix (1-0) for D O'Leary, D Hickey for D Hegarty, M Martin for C Coughlan, A Shanahan for J Nicholas, C Casey for P Kirby.

Referee - T Walsh.

Most Read Stories