HS hurling team of the week

July 29, 2019

Kilkenny fans on Hill 16 celebrate after the All-Ireland SHC semi-final victory over Limerick at Croke Park. ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

Picking a team of the week from two epic All-Ireland SHC semi-final encounters was no easy task...

1. Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)

Pulled off a routine save by his high standards from David Reidy in the closing stages and his puck-out strategy yielded a number of scores at the opposite end of the field.

2. Sean Finn (Limerick)

The tight-marking Treaty County defender kept plugging away but was unable to prevent his team from slipping to a one-point defeat.

3. Ronan Maher (Tipperary)

Rose to the challenge when his county needed him most and contributed two valuable points to the Premier cause.

4. Liam Ryan (Wexford)

Battled gallantly throughout and his point was a highlight of a frenetic first-half.

5. Shaun Murphy (Wexford)

Was involved in the build-up to Conor McDonald’s first-half goal and his loss to injury in the 52nd minute was acutely felt.

6. Padraig Walsh (Kilkenny)

Successfully curbed the considerable influence of Kyle Hayes.

7. Paddy Deegan (Kilkenny)

Similarly to Walsh, Deegan came out on top in his personal duel with Gearoid Hegarty.

8. Noel McGrath (Tipperary)

Epitomised Tipperary’s resilience in refusing to accept defeat following the dismissal of his brother John.

9. Lee Chin (Wexford)

Took his goal with aplomb and was his usual reliable self with his free-taking duties.

10. John O’Dwyer (Tipperary)

Overcame a slow start to exert a big influence on proceedings and finished with three points beside his name.

11. TJ Reid (Kilkenny)

All of his eight points came from placed balls and the experienced captain took the fight to the Liam MacCarthy Cup holders right from the throw-in.

12. Graeme Mulcahy (Limerick)

Scored two points and didn’t shy away from the challenge.

13. Adrian Mullen (Kilkenny)

Did his prospects of scooping the ‘Young Hurler of the Year’ accolade no harm at all with four points against the Shannonsiders.

14. Conor McDonald (Wexford)

Scored a goal in either half and was a constant thorn in the side of the Tipperary defence.

15. Seamus Callanan (Tipperary)

The Premier County captain bagged a seventh goal in this year’s championship and also chipped in with two points for good measure.

Most Read Stories