April 23, 2019

Roscommon Gaels GAA

Lotto Draw

Sunday 21st of April 2019

Jackpot

€8,150 WINNER

Numbers Drawn

€30 winners

Thanks to everyone who bought and sold tickets your support is very much appreciated.

CARDS

Winner of the 25 Card Spring League card drive winner on Monday 15th of April in The Hyde Centre was Ann Mulhern and the joint runners up were Colin Kilcline and Noel McDermott. The card winners for Monday Night the 15th were Noel Maguire and the runner up was Vincent Pearse and Ann Mulhern. Last Monday evening was the last of the card games until Autumn.  Thank you to everyone who supported a special thanks to Anthony McCormack who organises and Teresa Hession who makes the tea.  We look forward to seeing you all again in the Autumn. 

Hurleys for sale

We have hurleys for sale in the club if parents or coaches wish to contact me on 0863466465.

22”, 24” cost €10 each. 

26”, 28” cost €15 each. 30”, 32” cost €20 each. 

33”, 34”, 35” cost €25 each. 

U14 Camogie

The Camogie Championship for the Roscommon Gaels U14 team this year is nearing an end.  The girls had a great start to the competition with a decisive win against Tulsk.  They were defeated in a gruelling match against Domnics where the team showed great grit and determination.  The referee commenting that it was the finest display of camogie at that age group she had seen for some time.  The next match against Pearses took place in Lisnamult and unfortunately on the night the girls were defeated by one point, always a hard defeat.  The next match was against Oran and the team played a free flowing game demonstrating all their skills.  Although this was a great match the girls were defeated.  .  The team is now through to a C final on April 28th when they meet Tulsk again.   Training will continue on Tuesday’s and Saturdays in preparation for this final and we wish the girls the best of luck in this final. 

Training continues on Saturday 10.30 – 12 and Tuesday nights 7pm – 8pm in Lisnamult.  The U14 camogie league begins on May 7th when this team will play six matches during May and June against all clubs in the County.

County U18 camogie

Congrats to the Roscommon Gaels camogie players who were part of the County Minor camogie campaign for 2019.  The panel included Ella Killion, Emily Horan, Kate McPhillips, Jennifer Brennan, Mia Fallon, Riesse Donlon, Nessa Madden and Rachael Tarmey.  The County Minor campaign began in February and Roscommon played Meath, Laois, Kildare and Limerick.  The girls had a fantastic time and did themselves and Roscommon Gaels Club proud. 

Roscommon Gaels Academy U’6

Roscommon Gaels U6 Academy

Its here! The long awaited 'Roscommon Gaels Academy' kicks-off / pucs-off this week in the Hyde Centre!

* U6 girls (born 2013 & 2014) start Tuesday April 9th @ 6:30 pm.

* U6 boys (born 2013 & 2014) start Wednesday April 10th @ 6:30 pm.

Same time, same place each week. Come along and bring your friends, it’s going to be great fun. 

New members always welcome. Spread the word.

“ Our U-11 hurlers had another very successful day  at the Tain League played in The Connacht Centre of Excellence last Saturday 13th of April. While displaying plenty of skill, a good sense of field position and some beautiful point taking , our boys overcame the challenges of Castlebar Mitchell’s , Western Gaels and Ballyvary HC . Most importantly the boys had a very enjoyable day out . Parents should be very proud of how these young boys represented the Club. Well done to all. 

Thanks to Connacht Gaa for organizing same ....

Training continues on Monday evenings , 6.30 pm - 7.30 pm is Lisnamult. New players of any standard are always welcome.

U8 Football:

We’ll kick off the U8 girls Football on Monday 8th April at 6-7pm indoors in the Hyde Centre for the first few weeks.  If anyone has not yet registered and would like to attend you can contact Joe on 086 7727552.

U12 Football

Due to rain our first game of the season had to be cancelled.  This game will be reschedules.  Our next game is against Kilbride in Kilbride on Wednesday 17th of April at 7pm.

U14 Football 
Busy Busy week end for our U14 girls.  Friday evening we played a challenge match v Kilbride.  Sunday morning we had a challenge match v Barry’s.  Our league starts the 24th of April.  Training continues Wednesdays and Fridays. 

U16 Football

Congratulations to the u16 girls on their semi final win last night out in Lisnamult. We knew it was going to be tough Match to a team who we have beaten already in the league on a rainy evening but our Gaels superstars batted in every position on the field and came away with the win.

FT: 1-17 Roscommon Gaels  1-6 Castlrea

Final V Oran  on 5th May time and venue tbc.

Junior Ladies Football

Our Junior ladies played their final round of the league Sunday Morning in a wet and cold Kilbride.  We were heavily defeated.

FT: 4-16 Kilbride 2-2 Roscommon Gaels.

U14 County Football

Congratulations and well done to our Under 14 County Team, Players and Management  and our own club player's Ava Mulry, Shauna Walsh, Zara Fallon & Jenny Morrison winning the Under 14 Connacht B Final on Saturday in Ballyhaunis.

Roscommon 5-07 
Sligo 1-4

U14 Div 1 Football

On wednesday last we travelled to Loughlynn to play the amalgamated team of Eire Og/Michael glaveys in round 4 of the League.  We came up against a very strong & skillfull team.  But our lads although some of them smaller than their oppoistion played some great football in the 1st half. 

Half time 2-7 to 0-7.  Playing into a hill in the 2nd half Eire Og/Glaveys powered on with some quick fire goals - 2 penalties - which were dubious enough losing out by 7-13 to 1-7. 

No shame in the scoreline.  Our lads played expectional football at times but just couldn't cope with the power & size of the opposition. 

Next we Play St Brigids on 2nd May(home) then boyle on Monday 6th May away.

Below are lads that took part in an U 14 Development squad training on saturday morning in kilbride 

Senior Football Division 1 O’Rourke Cup

This Sunday we played our 3rd game of the season v Boyle in The O’Rourke Cup. Final Score Boyle 3-10 Roscommon Gael’s 1-14. 

The GAA are hiring.

Third Level Students required for Cul Camp Employment:

Roscommon Coaching and Games Development are seeking applications from third level students who wish to gain employment on our football & Hurling Cul Camps this summer and must apply with CV and cover letter to [email protected] 
we are asking clubs to pass this information onto their third level students. 
All applicants must be third level. 
Coaching background if possible. 
Must have GAA Garda Vetting.

Free CPR Community training day in Roscommon Library on Friday May 3rd. Registration onwww.HandsforLife.ie

Rossies Day at the Races

A Chara,

I am writing to remind you of our exciting Rossies at the Races day in Punchestown on May 4th.  This has been a great occasion on previous years and this year promises to be no different.  

Join us in Punchestown on Saturday May 4th for what promises to be a great day out. Tickets are €150 and include:

Admission Ticket – (General Admission is €30)

Reserved Enclosure Badge – (worth €10; an upgrade from General Admission)

Wrist Band access pass to different areas to include the private viewing lawn for guests in the Punchestown Pavilion

4 Course Lunch – (Starter, Main, Dessert, Tea/Coffee)

Afternoon Tea served after the 4.45pm Race (includes Sandwiches/Cocktail Sausages/Chicken Goujons)

Race Card & Pen

Mobile Tote Reps and Bookmaker in the room

Guest Tipster

Live Music

Monster Auction and Raffle

Spot Prizes

Please spread the word among your members and let them know about this great day out.  We need to ascertain the level of interest as soon as possible so I would really appreciate if you could come back to me by this day week with numbers.

Kind regards,

Valerie Murray

Valerie Ní Mhuirí

Runai

Coiste Contae Ros Comain 

Guthan : 086-8369122

Seoladh : Knock Road, Ballyhaunis, Co. Mayo 

Most Read Stories