HS hurling team of the week

July 02, 2018

Cork fans pose for a photograph before the Munster SHC final clash against Clare at Semple Stadium, Thurles.
©INPHO/Morgan Treacy.

Cork retained their Munster SHC crown while Galway and Kilkenny must do it all again in Semple Stadium next weekend. Here's our hurling team of the week…

1. Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)

The ever reliable Kilkenny netminder kept a clean sheet in yesterday's provincial final stalemate.

2. Adrian Tuohy (Galway)

Tuohy was one of the standout players for the reigning All-Ireland champions who will look to up their game for next weekend's replay.

3. Padraig Walsh (Kilkenny)

The fiercely competitive Tullaroan clubman gave an exhibition of high fielding that helped to inspire those around him.

4. Colm Spillane (Cork)

Was switched on to John Conlon in an attempt to curb the Banner forward's influence and he didn't let his side down.

5. Padraig Mannion (Galway)

Mannion was, once again, a model of consistency in the Tribesmen's half-back line.

6. Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny)

The Kilkenny captain led by example and was at the heart of a resolute defensive effort by Brian Cody's team.

7. Mark Coleman (Cork)

Made the scoresheet with two points, including a well executed sideline cut.

8. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork)

Along with his midfield partner Bill Cooper, Fitzgibbon succeeded in wrestling control of the middle third of the pitch for the Rebel County.

9. James Maher (Kilkenny)

The young St. Lachtain's player can look back on his first Leinster SHC final appearance with plenty of satisfaction.

10. John Conlon (Clare)

Conlon continued his rich vein of scoring form, registering five points from play, but was powerless to prevent the Banner from slipping to a two-point loss.

11. Seamus Harnedy (Cork)

The Cork captain was a constant thorn in the side of the Clare defence, finishing with 1-4 to his name and also setting up Luke Meade's first-half goal.

12. David Reidy (Clare)

Like Conlon, Reidy provided Cork with plenty of food for thought and he found the target with 1-2 in Semple Stadium.

13. Patrick Horgan (Cork)

When things weren't going his team's way, Horgan kept John Meyler's side in touch and he contributed 0-11 (including four from play) to his side's winning tally of 2-24.

14. Niall Burke (Galway)

Collectively, Galway's attacking unit didn't fire on all cylinders but Burke was a threat throughout and raised four white flags.

15. Chris Nolan (Carlow)

The Westmeath defence had no answer to Nolan whose personal return of 1-4 went a long way towards deciding the destination of the Joe McDonagh Cup.

Most Read Stories