Referees appointed for qualifier clashes

June 12, 2018

Paddy Neilan ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

After his controversial handling of last Saturday's All-Ireland SFC qualifier between Tyrone and Meath, Paddy Neilan has been appointed to referee the round 2 clash between Offaly and Clare on Sunday week.

The Roscommon official was escorted off the Pairc Tailteann pitch by gardai with a chorus of boos from the Meath supporters and criticism from their manager Andy McEntee ringing in his ears following the Royal County's minimum margin extra-time defeat.

He will be hoping his performance goes largely unnoticed when the Faithful and Banner Counties collide on Sunday, June 24.

All-Ireland SFC Round 2 Qualifiers

Saturday, June 23

Waterford v Monaghan, Fraher Field, 2pm

Referee: Derek O'Mahoney (Tipperary)

Tipperary v Mayo, Semple Stadium, 5pm

Referee: Maurice Deegan (Laois)

Cavan v Down, Brewster Park, 5pm

Referee: Cormac Reilly (Meath)

Carlow v Tyrone, Netwatch Cullen Park, 5pm

Referee: Conor Lane (Cork)

Sligo v Armagh, Markievicz Park, 6pm

Referee: Sean Hurson (Tyrone)

Leitrim v Louth, Pairc Sean Mac Diarmada, Carrick-on-Shannon, 7pm

Referee: Noel Mooney (Cavan)

Longford v Kildare, Glennon Brothers Pearse Park, 7pm

Referee: Joe McQuillan (Cavan)

Sunday June 24

Offaly v Clare, Bord Na Mona O'Connor Park, 1.30pm

Referee: Paddy Neilan (Roscommon)

Most Read Stories