Gerry Reilly Cup draw

May 11, 2018

Pictured at the Gerry Reilly Leinster U-16 Football Championship 2018 front l-r: Eddie O'Reilly and Leo Halpin. Back l-r: Dermot Monaghan, Peter O'Halloran Meath County Board Chairman, Jamie Queeney, Martin Blake and Seamus Maxwell

The draw for the Briody Bedding Limited sponsored Gerry Reilly Leinster U-16 Football Championship 2018 took place last night in the Show Hall, Oldcastle.

Holders Monaghan take on Meath in what is a repeat of last years very entaining final.

Group A: Cavan, Fermanagh, Longford, Westmeath

Group B: Antrim, Down, Dublin, Kildare

Group C: Louth, Meath, Monaghan, Offaly

Group D: Carlow, Laois, Wicklow, Wexford

'Round Robin' Fixtures
Venue: First named team at home

Round 1 (7/7/2018)

Group A: Longford v Cavan; Westmeath v Fermanagh
Group B: Kildare v Dublin; Down v Antrim
Group C: Monaghan v Meath; Louth v Offaly
Group D:  Laois v Wexford; Carlow v Wicklow
(Rd.1 Group D games in Ferns, Wexford)

Round 2 (14/7/2018)

Group A: Fermanagh v Longford; Cavan v Westmeath
Group B: Antrim v Kildare; Dublin v Down
Group C: Offaly v Monaghan; Meath v Louth
Group D: Wicklow v Laois; Wexford v Carlow

Round 3: (28/7/2018)

Group A: Fermanagh v Cavan; Longford v Westmeath
Group B:  Antrim v Dublin; Kildare v Down
Group C: Offaly v Meath; Monaghan v Louth
Group D:  Wicklow v Wexford; Laois. v Carlow

Kathryn Cooke (Briody Bedding Limited) makes the draw with Eddie O'Reilly

Top 2 in each group qualify for the Quarter Finals

Quarter Finals- 11/8/18

Venue:Oldcastle GFC
E:  A1 v B2
F:  B1 v A2
G:  C1 v D2
H:  D1 v C2


Venue:Oldcastle GFC
E v F
G v H


Venue:Oldcastle GFC
Winning Semi-Finalists = Cup Final
Losing Semi-Finalists  = Plate Final

This tournament commemorates Gerry Reilly who died tragically in December '87 at 16 years of age, and he had already proved to be a great footballer with huge potential to go on to great heights in the game. The competition has proved a great success in providing a platform to launch inter-county football careers. So many players have made it all the way to represent their senior county teams at the highest level. Indeed many went on to be Football All-Stars

Winners of the Gerry Reilly Cup to date:

Westmeath: 1990, 1992, 1994, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2006, 2010, 2011

Meath: 1989, 1991, 1995, 1996, 2002, 2003, 2007

Cavan: 1997, 2004, 2005, 2014, 2015, 2016

Dublin: 1993, 1998, 2008 (U-17 Blitz), 2012, 2013

Monaghan: 2017

Most Read Stories