Raheen & Na Fianna club notes

April 10, 2018


The numbers drawn in the Lotto draw which took place on Tuesday 03 April 2018 were 07 09 13 29. There was No Jackpot winner of €4,000 and 1 Match 3 Winner (Billy Murphy C/O Direen's) (€200) . Next week's draw will take place in Direen's, Cloneygowan on Monday 16 April 2018.


Raheen & Walsh Island Senior Footballers had to settle for a draw in the 1st Rd of the Senior B Championship last Sunday morning in Daingean on a scoreline of 1-06 apiece in a game played in extremely heavy underfoot conditions and a torrential downpour throughout. A brace of points from Jack O'Brien and Richie Reynolds gave Raheen a double score lead at the break 0-04 to 0-02 and Walsh Island had their midfielder Matthew O'Connor black carded midway through the first half. Mark Gorman slotted over a free early in the second half to extend Raheen's lead before Raheen were reduced to 14 on 6 mins when full back and captain Liam Boland was sent off. Walsh Island took advantage of the extra man over the next 20 mins scoring 4 points to Raheen's 1 to draw level. Then with possibly their only bear down on goal on 27 mins Walsh island got in to score their goal but straight from the kickout Raheen hit back with a penalty blasted to the net by Conor Carroll. Then in the 6 mins of play that followed both defences held firm to deny a winner being found.

RAHEEN: Mark Byrne, Brian Corcoran, Liam Boland, Adam Kelly, Jack Keogh, James Lalor, Brian Crombie, Padraig Bracken, Mark Gorman (0-01), Niall Dempsey (0-01), Richie Reynolds (0-02), Paddy Arnold, Conor Carroll (1-00), Niall Leavy, Jack O'Brien (0-02).

SUBS: Stephen Pierce (for Niall Leavy), Mikey Keogh (for Mark Gorman)



Raheen Senior Footballers continue their Senior B Championship campaign against Erin Rovers in Round 2 on next Wednesday 18th April @ 7pm in Killeigh. All Support would be appreciated.


Members are asked to renew their membership as soon as possible but all membership must be paid by the end of February 2018. Subscriptions are Playing Members €30, Students €20 & Non Playing Members €20 & OAP's: €15. Payments can be given to Membership Officers Paddy Bracken or Eddie Kaye. New members are very welcome.


Na Fianna club notes


Na Fianna U17 (Minor) Footballers Rd 2 League fixture V St Broughans was postponed last Tuesday week and will be Re-Fixed for a later date.



Na Fianna U15 Footballers opened their League campaign with defeat to St Manchan Gaels in Ballycumber last Monday week on a scoreline of 4-12 to 0-06 but battled bravely in the very difficult and testing conditions. St Manchans scored their first goal with the first attack and by half time led 3-07 to 0-02. In the second half Na Fianna doubled their first half tally with 4 points and limited St Manchans to just a further 1-05.

NA FIANNA: Martin Kelly, Eamon Bolger, Jack Brickland, David Owens, Scott Bolton, Fergal Dolan (0-01), Dylan Cahill (0-02), Diarmuid Finneran (0-01), Jack Kelly, Aaron Gorman, Stephen Hackett, Sean Flood, Jack Cleary, Dara Crilly, Ciaran Murphy.

SUBS: Geordi O'Meara (0-02) (for Sean Flood), Adam Joyce (for Jack Cleary), Robbie Gallagher (for Ciaran Murphy), Sean Flood (for Dara Crilly), Jack Cleary (for Stephen Hackett), Ciaran Murphy (for Aaron Gorman).



It was also defeat for Na Fianna U13 Footballers in their opening League fixture against Shamrocks last Friday evening in Rahan on a scoreline of 2-08 to 2-06. At half time the sides were level 0-04 to 1-01. A further 2 points apiece early in the second half before Na Fianna took the lead with their first goal on 17 mins following a goal mount scramble finished to the net by Dan Daly. Shamrocks responded with 1-05 without reply to come from 3 points down to 5 up. Then in the final min a Na Fianna goal from Cein Gorman following a pass from Ryan Kinahan cut the deficit to 2 but alas there was time for no more as Shamrocks held on for the win.

NA FIANNA: Killian McHugh, John Greene, Ronan Brophill, Rory Grehan, Cian Malone (0-01), Brian Connolly, Finn McCormack, Danny Gorman, Eoin Dunne (0-03), Finn Hassett, Kevin Sweeney, Aaron Rattigan, Cein Gorman (1-01), Adam Carthy, Ryan Kinahan.

SUBS: Kevin Healy, Cillian Murphy, Dan Daly (1-01).



Most Read Stories