Footballers come up short against Dubs
March 18, 2010
ALLAINZ FOOTBALL LEAUE DIVISION 1
Dublin 2-11
Monaghan 1-9
Monaghan travelled to Parnell Park on Saturday night last on the back of their morale boosting victory over Tyrone on Sunday last and looking for a fourth result on the bounce at Dublin's headquarters but ultimately they came up short against a new look Dublin side who were worthy winners on the night. Five points separated the sides at the finish and in truth it could well have heroics of Shane Duffy in the Monaghan goals kept them in the game as he denied Dublin with four excellent saves and a couple of other interceptions that thwarted danger as a rampant Dublin built-in intensity in the second-half. Dublin welcomed back Bernard Brogan for this encounter and he led Monaghan a merry dance but against a defence that had to be reshuffled after just two minutes when Dermot McArdle aggravated a hamstring injury and had to be replaced. Monaghan suffered further blows to their prospects in this game with the loss of Vincent Corey just before half-time with a suspected hamstring pull and then the dismissal of Dessie Mone with just over five minutes played in the second-half when he picked up a second yellow card. It was harsh justice on Monaghan as Laois referee Maurice Deegan had chickened out of issuing Dublin's Paul Flynn with a second yellow card approaching the end of the first half for a cynical personal foul on Dick Clerkin only minutes after he had been yellow carded for a similar offence. The refereed reached for his booklet but realising what the implications were, he slid the notebook back into his pocket and wagged a finger at Paul Flynn. Dessie Mone though was given and no such discretion. Having to reshuffle their defence in the early stages it took Monaghan some time to ease into their new formation. Darren Hughes started at midfield and himself and Dick Clerkin had a real battle with the Eamonn Fennell/Ross McConnell Dublin axis. Dublin's work rate throughout was intense and their ability to get men behind the ball quickly and then transfer just as quickly from defence to attack saw Monaghan repeatedly stretched. The loss of Vincent Corey was a blow as it robbed them of the target man they needed to create something out of the limited supply going in. Dublin led by four points at half-time but seven minutes into the second-half Monaghan took a one-point lead and that after they had been reduced numerically with the dismissal of Dessie Mone. However they were unable to capitalise and a second goal for Dublin in the 17th minute effectively sent them on their way. They could have registered a couple more but for the agility and reflexes of shane Duffy who came to Monaghan's rescue a number of times to deny Kevin McMenamon and Bernard Brogan and the Metropolitans also saw another effort come back off the upright. Ross McConnell opened the scoring for Dublin after just 30 seconds but by the third minute a point from a free by Paul Finlay and a good effort from play by Hugh McElroy had Monaghan a point in front. Both sides were off target in the ensuing minutes before Conor McManus converted a free for a foul on Paul Finlay put Monaghan two in front after seven minutes. Three minutes later though that lead had evaporated when Bernard Brogan was on hand to roll the ball into the Monaghan net to put his side a point in front. A minute later Kevin McMenamon looked to have a clear-cut chance when the ball bounced favourably over backs and forwards alike and the Dublin corner man had a clear run but Shane Duffy raced off his line to deny him. Dublin now increased the pressure on Monaghan but efforts by Paul Flynn, David Henry and Bernard Brogan were all off target before Brogan extended Dublin's lead to two in the 17th minute, David Henry creating chance. A minute later Dick Clerkin, Paul Finlay and Tomas Freeman conspired to create an opening for Hugh McElroy to reduce the deficit to the minimum but almost immediately Dublin were back to a two points advantage when Eamon Fennell thumped over a magnificent point from distance. David Henry had a chance to extend their lead but was off target as was Michael McAuley, those two coming either side of a narrow miss by Hugh McElroy. Twenty foru minutes into the first half Bernard Brogan converted a free after he himself had been fouled to put Dublin three in front but two minutes later the margin was down to two when Darren Hughes finished well at the end of a quick break. Monaghan looked to have reduced the deficit further but a great effort from Tomas Freeman on his left foot was just inches wide before Bernard Brogan converted another free to restore Dublin to a three points lead entering the final five minutes. Monaghan now suffered another setback with injury forcing Vincent Corey to retire and Rory Woods introduced while Dublin enjoyed a slice of good fortune when Paul Flynn was lucky to escape a second yellow card. Monaghan failed to convert the resultant free for the foul by Flynn on Dick Clerkin and another effort from Conor McManus was off target before Dublin brought the first half scoring to a close with a point from a free by Bernard Brogan, the kick awarded in a harsh call on Colin Walsh who looked to have robbed Kevin McMenamon cleanly. That ended the scoring for the first half but Shane Duffy was again in action to deny Bernard Brogan from close range and Alan Hubbard was off target with a late attempt to leave the half-time score Dublin 1-6, Monaghan 0-5.
The opening minutes of the second half saw chances go amiss at both ends before Rory Woods pulled back a point for Monaghan in the fifth minute following a neat one/two with Hugh McElroy. A minute later Woods got a hand to a high centre but his effort was just outside the post and Monaghan now suffered a major setback with the dismissal of Dessie Mone for a late challenge on Alan Hubbard. Within a minute of that set back though Monaghan were right back into the game when Tomas Freeman found the Dublin net, his searing shot from out on the right hitting the net courtesy of a rebound of the inside of the upright. Monaghan won possession from the kick out and Rory Woods restored them to the lead, a situation that pertained until the 15th minute when Dublin substitute Darren Magee hauled them level. Two minutes later Dublin were back in front when Kevin McMenamon beat Shane Duffy following good work by Darren Magee and Ross McConnell. Monaghan responded with a point from a free by Conor McManus after he himself had been fouled but almost immediately Bernard Brogan cancelled out that effort when he too was on target from a free. Monaghan did have a couple of chances to narrow the gap but they failed to capitalise and Shane Duffy again came to their rescue when Bernard Brogan put Kevin McMenamon through after Monaghan had lost possession working their way out of defence. Dublin failed to capitalise on the '45 but with eight minutes of normal time remaining Alan Hubbard raced through to fist over the bar after excellent work by Darren Magee who made a distinct impression following his introduction. Both sides again saw chances squandered with Dublin's Ross McConnell also denied by the upright and Shane Duffy again producing the heroics to deny Bernard Brogan for the third time. Conor McManus made it a three points game with three minutes of normal time remaining and the game was still there for the taking although Dublin with their clever use of the extra man were in the ascendancy. Michael McAuley broke through on another Dublin counter attack but his shot came back off the crossbar and Shane Duffy was in action again while Monaghan saw two reasonable chances at the other end yield nothing. Two minutes into stoppage time Michael McAuley came on a strong run, again after Monaghan lost possession going forward and he placed Bernard Brogan who put Dublin four in front. Brogan also had a hand a minute later along with Kevin McMenamon for late substitute Brendan McMenamon to get on the score sheet and leave Dublin five ahead when Maurice Keegan blew the full-time whistle stop
Teams and Scorers: Dublin: Stephen Cluxton, Michael Fitzsimons, Rory O'Carroll, Philip McMahon, James McCarthy, Cian O'Sullivan, Ger Brennan, Eamonn Fennell 0-1, Ross McConnell 0-1, Alan Hubbard 0-1, Michael McAuley, Paul Flynn, David Henry, Bernard Brogan 1-6 (0-3f), Kevin McMenamon 1-0. Subs: Paul Griffin for J McCarthy, Brendan McMenamon 0-1 for D Henry, Hugh Gill for P Griffin, Kevin Bonner for P Flynn, Darren Magee 0-1 for E Fennell.
Monaghan: Shane Duffy, Colm Greenan, Dermot McArdle, Colin Walshe, Neil McAdam, Dessie Mone, Conor McManus 0-3 (3f), Darren Hughes 0-1, Dick Clerkin, Stephen Gollogly, Paul Finlay 0-1 (f), Kieran Hughes, Hugh McElroy 0-2, Vincent Corey, Tomas Freeman 1-0. Subs: Mark McNally for D McArdle, Rory Woods 0-2 for V Corey, Francis Caulfield for H McElroy, Martin McElroy for K Hughes, Dermot Malone for N McAdam. Referee: Maurice Deegan (Laois).
REACTION.
There was little by way of contrast in the reaction from both camps following last Saturday night's game in Parnell Park, Seamus McEnaney still in upbeat mood and confident that Monaghan could retain division 1 status while Dublin manager Pat Kilroy was not getting carried away and reminded everyone that it was still only March and that Dublin were still working on finalising a panel and a game plan that would serve them well when the sun was higher in the sky. There had also been the question of the inconsistency that had been seen in issuing yellow cards and the favour that Paul Flynn enjoyed as opposed to Dessie Mone but neither manager would be drawn on the issue with both stating that they were happy with the referee. The Monaghan supporters might have had a different take.
DUBLIN MANAGER PAT GILROY.
Problem manager Pat Gilroy was happy with his side's performance and the victory that puts Dublin in pole position in division 1. "It was a good performance and we kept our shape quite well although there were times when we did fall back. If I had a criticism I would say there were a lot of chances that we could have converted but I'm a lot happier with the performance than I was in the last couple of games. The boys worked hard and Bernard Brogan had a big influence but then the lads outside of him were putting in a lot of work and they were creating space and opportunities and the ball that was going in was quite good". Gilroy also acknowledged that the Dublin work rate is improving but again referred to the fact that their ratio of scores to the chances created will have to improve. "We have got a good work rate in every game so far although there are still mistakes that we are making. We could have had three or four more goals even allowing for the fact that the Monaghan keeper did very well but we just wasted chances with over passing. However at the end of the day it is still only March and lads will make those mistakes at this time of the year but you couldn't fault the effort". When the question of the referee was raised and the fact that Dublin enjoyed a little bit of good fortune in the yellow card stakes Gilroy was noncommittal. "I always think that the referees are very good and they are excellent at doing the job and I'm very happy that they do it so well. Quite honestly there is no point in giving out about referees, we didn't get a lot of frees this evening and I could complain about other matters but we got a couple of calls tonight and I don't really have a problem with that. You don't like to see players being sent off and it was unfortunate for the Monaghan lad but I think maybe it was a bit more clumsy than anything else but that's how it goes sometimes". The result now puts Dublin on top of Division I with their next match away against Cork so did Pat Gilroy think that this one was going to be something akin to a championship match. "Look these are just league games and it's early in the year and it doesn't matter who we are playing or where we are we will prepare no different for this game than we did for our four games so far. It's about going out and doing the things we are trying to improve on and that's all it's about at this stage of the year. The lads are working hard, there are new guys who have come in and they all seem to be willing to work hard for each other and that's the important thing".
MONAGHAN MANAGER SEAMUS MC ENANEY.
Seamus McEnaney brought his side to Parnell Park following their victory over Tyrone in Inniskeen but Monaghan were unable to build on that success and he agreed that overall he was very disappointed with the outcome against Dublin.
Definitely, disappointed because there was a time in the second half when we went a point up, and we looked like we could go on and win it. We had a couple of opportunities that could have put us two up but we didn't take them. I thought we fought back well after half-time although I have to say the turning point in the game for us was when we went down to 14 men. Overall I suppose there were two very important things than affected this game as well as that, first of all we lost Dermot McArdle after just a minute and then we lost Vincent Corey just before half-time and they are the type of players that Monaghan cannot afford to lose especially against a team of the quality of Dublin and especially here in Parnell Park".
Seamus McEnaney had seen Dessie Mone sent off on a second yellow card after Dublin player Paul Flynn had enjoyed a large slice of good fortune when he avoided what looked a certain second yellow card in the first half, so did the manager feel that this had added to Monaghan's problems. "These things happen in matches and I think Maurice Deegan had quite a good game. I couldn't single out any one or two things that cost us the match and that certainly didn't. I never like to see any player getting sent off, possibly he (Flynn) deserved a second booking but that's for someone else to judge".
Like his Dublin counterpart Seamus McEnaney pointed to the work rate of Dublin as a key factor in the overall outcome of this game. "Dublin worked extremely hard and they have got a new group of players there who are prepared to go to the end of the line and to be fair to Dublin when Monaghan went a point up there were Dublin teams over the years who might have gone away at that stage but this Dublin team came back harder and faster and better than ever".
Seamus McEnaney is on record as saying that it will take six points to keep Monaghan in division 1. It was put to him that Monaghan now have two points and there are only six points left to win so did he believe that Monaghan could get the four points that they need out of that six. "I certainly do and that is our target, because we want to stay in division 1. I firmly believe this team is capable of staying in division 1 and if it goes down to the wire in the last game against Kerry in Killarney that's okay with me as long as we stay in this division and I believe this team has got the character to achieve that. They showed that last week and we'll come out fighting from here on in".
Seamus McEnaney also agreed that even when Monaghan were down 14 players they still had chances that could have changed the result but finishing, over elaboration and players taking the wrong option robbed them of vital scores. "That is very true. There were only two points in the game with four or five minutes to go and then we shot two or three bad wides at that stage that could have put the game in the melting pot in the last couple of minutes. However I have to say that some of those misses were uncharacteristic of some of our forwards. But listen this team showed plenty of character especially in the second-half when we were short two or three of our best players through injury and that stretched our resources to the limit and being stretched like that we just couldn't live with the intensity that Dublin generated tonight".
Most Read Stories