McManus to sit out McKenna Cup campaign

December 15, 2017

Monaghan's Conor McManus dejected.
©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

Conor McManus will play no part in Monaghan's upcoming McKenna Cup campaign.

Voted as Ireland's best player in the International Rules Series last month, the Clontibret native is among a number of experienced players being rested. Scotstown duo Rory Beggan and Kieran Hughes and Ballybay brothers Drew and Ryan Wylie are the others who have been given the time off.

Now preparing for his sixth successive season at the Farney County helm, Malachy O'Rourke has freshened up his squad by introducing six newcomers including Barry Kerr, Padraig McGuirk, James Wilson, David Garland, Barry McBennett and Dean Connolly.

Meanwhile, John McCarron, Conor Boyle and Paudie McKenna have been recalled after a period of absence.

Monaghan (2018 McKenna Cup squad): Conor Forde (Scotstown), Karl McQuaid (Emyvale), John McCarron (Truagh), Conor Boyle (Clontibret), Owen Coyle (Latton), Barry Kerr (Cremartin), Kieran Duffy (Latton), James Mealiff (Clones), Karl O'Connell (Tyholland), Fintan Kelly (Clones), Padraig McGuirk (Sean McDermotts), Stephen Finnegan (Donaghmoyne), Aaron Lynch (Carrickmacross), Neil McAdam (Monaghan Harps), Brian Greenan (Clontibret), Darren Hughes (Scotstown), Niall Kearns (Sean McDermotts), Micheal Bannigan (Aughnamullen), Dessie Ward (Ballybay), Darren Freeman (St. Brigids), Paudie McKenna (Truagh), Thomas Kerr (Ballybay), James Wilson (Toome), David Garland (Donaghmoyne), Barry McBennett (Doohamlet), Dean Connolly (Killanny).

Most Read Stories