Annual Awards

December 11, 2017

Also announced at Monaghan County convention were the winners of the 2017 Annual Awards which this year sees 4 new members inducted into the Monaghan GAA Hall of Fame.

Senior Footballer: Kieran Hughes, (Scotstown).

Intermediate Footballer: Stephen O'Hanlon, (Carrickmacross).

Junior Footballer: Jack McCarron, (Currin).

Young Footballer: Conor McCarthy, (Scotstown).

Senior Hurler: Brian Flanagan, (Castleblayney H C).

Young Hurler: Paddy Birmingham, (Carrickmacross H C).

Senior Club Official: Patricia Smith, (Killeevan).

Juvenile Club Official: Donal McAdam, (Drumhowan).

Handballer of the Year: Michael Clerkin, (Bawn).

Camogie Award: Niamh Brennan (Castleblayney Camogie Club)

Ladies Footballer: Ciara McAnespie  (Emyvale).

Youth Achievement Award, Football: Emyvale.

Youth Achievement Award, Hurling: Carrickmacross H C.

Senior Referee: Xavier Coyle, (Tyholland).

Intermediate Referee: Stephen Hagan, (Sean McDermotts).

Junior referee: Brendan McNally, Cremartin.

Minor referee: Andrew Mullan, Scotstown.

Hurling Referee: Jason McAndrew, (Ballybay/Monaghan Harps HC).

Youth Referee: Aaron Gallagher, (Aghabog).

Hall of Fame: Brendan Brady, (Aghabog), Paddy Kerr, (Ballybay), Gerry McCarville, (Scotstown),

Kevin Treanor, (Truagh).

Special Merit Award: Monaghan GAA New York.

Club of the Year: Eire Og.

Club Monaghan Senior Footballer: Fintan Kelly, (Clones).

Best Contribution to Scor and Culture: Inniskeen Grattans.

Retired Senior County Player: Stephen Gollogly, (Carrickmacross).

The Annual Awards will be presented at a special function on Friday, January 19th 2018, in the 4 Seasons Hotel, Monaghan.


This is an initiative by the Monaghan County Board chairman Michael McMahon to give greater recognition to club players who make such a success of the domestic competitions in the County and contribute so much to the well-being of the GAA in Monaghan year on year. A subcommittee involving Northern Standard GAA correspondent John P Graham along with Colm Shalvey, Monaghan Harps and Northern Standard and Oram's Tony Graham, was tasked with putting the chairman's idea into action by choosing a Champion 15 for each of the Senior, intermediate and junior football championships as well as the senior hurling championship, and they were thanked at County Convention for their efforts. The choice of the champion 15 in each of the 4 categories was based solely on championship appearances and performance in each of the 4 competitions.


Rory  Beggan (Scotstown), Ryan Wylie (Ballybay), Damien McArdle (Scotstown), Colm Lennon (Ballybay), Donal Morgan (Scotstown), Kieran Duffy (Latton), Owen Coyle (Latton), Gavin Doogan (Magheracloone), Kieran Hughes (Scotstown), Paul Finlay (Ballybay), Bernard O'Brien (Latton), Allan Kieran (Magheracloone), Conor McCarthy (Scotstown), Darren Hughes (Scotstown), Tomas Freeman (Magheracloone).


Padraig Dowdall (Inniskeen), Jason Murphy (Toome), Conor Duffy (Carrickmacross), Donal Courtney (Blackhill), Colm Meegan (Inniskeen), James Conlon (Carrickmacross), Cillian Cromwell (Carrickmacross), Peter O'Hanlon (Carrickmacross), Sean McMahon (Toome), Colin Clerkin (Aughnamullen), Stephen Gollogly (Carrickmacross), Frank Connolly (Toome), James Wilson (Toome), Micheal Bannigan (Aughnamullen), Stephen O'Hanlon (Carrickmacross).


Berat Turker (Oram), Brian McQuaid (Sean McDermotts), Conor McCaffrey (Currin), Enda McCaffrey (Currin), Corey McAree (Eire Og), Padraig McGuirk (Sean McDermotts), Ciaran McCaffrey (Currin), Dick Clerkin (Currin), Fintan Kelly (Clones), Conor Leonard (Eire Og), Adrian Alford (Clones), Niall Kearns (Sean McDermotts), Micheal Tierney (Eire Og), Jack McCarron (Currin), Stephen Smyth (Currin).


Patrick Bermingham (Carrickmacross HC)

Jamie Guinan (Carrickmacross HC)

Jim McHugh (C'Blayney HC)

Patrick Finnegan (C'Blayney HC)

Colm Meegan (Inniskeen)

Peter Treanor (C'Blayney HC)

Martin Murphy (Inniskeen)

Mark Treanor (C'Blayney HC)

Donal Meegan (Inniskeen)

Cathal Power (Monaghan Harps HC)

Luke McKenna (Carrickmacross HC)

Hugh Byrne (C'Blayney HC)

Fergal Rafter (C'Blayney HC)

Ronan Meegan (Inniskeen)

Brian McGuigan (C'Blayney HC.

The County chairman plans to have a special presentation function for the champion 15 in each of the 4 categories on a date to be confirmed in February next.


The Volunteer Recognition and Appreciation Scheme for 2017 which saw all clubs asked to nominate a member who would be a worthy recipient of this accolade, had their presentation night last night, Wednesday, December 13th in the 4 Seasons Hotel, Monaghan where the nominees were presented with their awards by the Uachtaran Cumann Luthchleas Gael, Aogan O Fearghaill, Ard Stiurthoir, CLG, Paraic Duffy along with County chairman Michael McMahon. Full report and pictures in next week's edition.


Prior to the close of County Convention on Thursday evening last, Carrickmacross delegate Tomas McMahon addressed the gathering and made an impassioned plea to the clubs to support a fund raising venture by the Emmets club, the proceeds of which will be donated to the campaign to raise awareness of Motor Neuron disease and to generate funds for a club member, Shane McMahon, who has been diagnosed with the disease recently. Shane (McMahon), who is a brother of Carrickmacross delegate Thomas, had represented Carrickmacross on the field and more recently had acted as a referee in the county, and news of his diagnosis caused great shock in the local community and the announcement at County convention last Thursday night also had a marked impact on the attendance. The fund-raising venture is the Carrickmacross Annual Christmas Day swim that Creevey Lake, which has now been going for 37 years and has benefited many charities in that time, but this year the funds will go to the one cause and Thomas McMahon asked for support from the clubs and also requested that the County Board would facilitate this fund-raising venture. He informed the delegates that a website had been set up and had already generated support from around the world and the chairman assured him of the support of the County Committee in their efforts. Sponsorship cards were available on the night and were distributed among the clubs.

Most Read Stories