B FL Div 5: Bragging rights for Kells

July 13, 2018

Shane Bennett Gaeil Colmcille

Drumbaragh 2-13 Gaeil Colmcille 2-14

Kells parish rivals Gaeil Colmcille and Drumbaragh met in this B League Division Five fixture in Drumbaragh on Thursday evening and in an end to end match that could have gone either way it was the Gaeils that came out on top by the minimum. 

Gaeil Colmcille raced into a 0-04 to 0-01 lead early on thanks to some excellent kicking from full back Brian Byrne who slotted over two early 45s and two points from Ryan McManus. Both sides traded scores with veteran Niall Flanagan pointed arguably the score of the match off his left foot near the sideline. Gary McGovern popped over two frees and another monster free off the ground from Byrne left the Gaeils 0-09 to 0-05 ahead at the break. 

Drumbaragh made three changes and paid dividends straight away when they cut the lead to a single point thanks to to good, fast play which caught the Gaeils off guard early on in the second half.

On 37 minutes Shane Bennett netted for the Gaeils but for Drumbaragh to go up the far side and score a goal cancelling out Bennett's three pointer. Drumbaragh seemed to be in the driving seat and some fine scores from both teams meant the game could go either way.

With thirteen minutes to go Drumbaragh got their second goal of the match to leave them four points to the good. Justin Carry-Lynch called on experience and brought Barry Balfe on and straight away he made an impact, Quick thinking by McGovern with a 21 yard free to an unmarked Balfe, Balfe steadied himself and fired low and hard past the helpless Drumbaragh keeper to leave just one between the sides. 

The Gaeils would go on to score the last two points of the match thanks to two frees from McGovern to ensure the win for Gaeil Colmcille, the win leaves Gaeil Colmcille with an outside hope of reaching the final with the remaining games to come. 

Gaeil Colmcille: M Galligan-Edwards, R Fox, B Byrne (0-04), R Daly, A Lawal, D Tormay, R McManus (0-02), E Doogan, A O'Rorke (0-01), P Smyth, B Farrelly, S Bennett (1-00), G McGovern (0-05), N Flanagan (0-02), J Flanagan. Subs: C Mooney for Farrelly, A Tormey for J Flanagan, B Balfe (1-00) for McManus, P Murphy for N Flanagan. 

Most Read Stories