Leinster MFC: Royals power past Westmeath

May 08, 2018

Meath's Coiln Hawdon skips away from the challenge of Shane Murtagh Westmeath during the opening round of the Leinster MFC at Cusack Park Mullingar. TO VIEW A SELECTION OF PHOTOGRAPHS FROM THIS GAME CLICK HERE

Meath 2-20 Westmeath 2-7

Meath, who won the inaugural Leinster U17 championship last year, were comfortable 2-20 to 2-7 winners over neighbours Westmeath at TEG Cusack Park.

The impressive midfield partnership of Cian McBride and Adam Reilly provided a platform for this 13 point win. 

The sides were level at 0-5 each after 20 minutes before McBride got on the end of a Luke Mitchell free to palm home the opening goal of the game. Meath went in at the break 1-8 to 0-7 in front.

The visitors put the game to bed in the opening ten minutes of the second half. A 1-6 unanswered blitz sealed Westmeath's fate. Full forward Luke Kelly got in for the Royals second goal.

Westmeath raised two green flags of their own too. Ben McGauran threw the home side a lifeline after 15 minutes. The full forward saw his penalty saved by Meath keeper Sean Brennan but was on hand to net the rebound. Jack Torpey got in for their second goal with minutes left but it was all in vain as a far superior Meath went on to record a comfortable win.

Meath scorers: Luke Kelly 1-2, Bryan McCormack and David Bell 0-4 each, Mathew Costello 0-3, Cian McBride 1-0, Dylan Morgan 0-2, Adam Reilly, Luke Mitchell, Brian O'Hanlon, Oisin McCloskey and Colin Hawdon 0-1 each.

Westmeath scorers: Ben McGauran 1-3, Jack Torpey 1-0, Kevin O'Sullivan, Shane Fleming, Liam Moran and Darragh Seery 0-1 each.

Meath: Sean Brennan Dunderry, James O'Hare Rathkenny, Harry O'Higgins Round Towers, Cathal Hickey Seneschalstown, Conor Farrelly Walterstown, Conor Harford St. Vincents, Sean Coffey Ballinabrackey, Adam Reilly Moynalty, Cian McBride St. Ultans, Colin Hawdon Oldcastle, Mathew Costello Dunshaughlin, Bryan McCormack Moynalty, David Bell St. Colmcilles, Luke Kelly Na Fianna, Luke Mitchell Dunshaughlin. Subs: Oisin McCloskey Na Fianna, Luke Newe Ratoath, Darragh Swaine Clann Na nGael, Adam Treanor Walterstown, Brian O'Hanlon Navan O'Mahonys, Dylan Morgan Round Towers.

Westmeath: Simon Fagan; Darragh Seery, Ciaran Daly, Shane Murtagh; Jordan McDonnell, Eamonn Martin, Jack Torpey; Adam Cronin, Enda Gaffney; Oisin Raleigh, Liam Brennan, Shane Fleming; Kevin O'Sullivan, Ben McGauran, Liam Moran. Subs: Cian McCourt, Trevor Keena, Jamie Coffey, Adam Donoghue, Dylan Keegan, Josh Gahan, Wayne Smyth, Brandon Kelly, Michael McCormack. Subs: Adam Donoghue, Jamie Coffey, Trevor Keena, Michael McCormack, Brandon Kelly, Josh Gahan.

Referee Darragh Sheppard.

Most Read Stories