Looking at Westmeath

Ok so one in the bag, what changes are to be implemented for the trip to Mullingar ?

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 05/02/2012 19:01:01    1105964

Good performance last night so I dont think there will be many changes. I think Gillespie in for Ward in midfield. Gilsenan out on yellow cards so Tom Walsh in at full forward with Stephen Bray going to the 40. Other than that I think the rest should be left alone. Joe on the bench as an impact sub if needed

aodhanomaonaigh (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 05/02/2012 19:07:32    1105975

I'd start Joe at FF and give Tom Walsh a game at midfield.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 05/02/2012 19:14:21    1105984

aodhanomaonaigh

Good performance last night so I dont think there will be many changes. I think Gillespie in for Ward in midfield. Gilsenan out on yellow cards so Tom Walsh in at full forward with Stephen Bray going to the 40. Other than that I think the rest should be left alone. Joe on the bench as an impact sub if needed

Drop Paddy Gilsenan?
Have you been to a single game this year.?

I wouldnt put Gillespie on either. If I was changing anything at midfield it'd be Walsh that I'd bring in.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 05/02/2012 19:25:00    1105996

Just bring in tom walsh at midfield. I think gilsennan is out to to 2 yellows am I wrong? But honestly one of very few games I am not worried about. Westmeath are worse than useless without garycastle lads. So I predict easy victory

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/02/2012 19:37:26    1106017

I would go with this team with everyone fit,
1. David Gallagher
2. Mickey Burke
3. Kevin Reilly(If Fit)
4. Gary O'Brien
5. Cormac McGuiness
6. Shane McEnarney
7. Donnacha Tobin/Chris O'Connor
8. Mark Ward
9. Bryan Menton
10.Seamus Kenny
11.Eoin Reilly
12.Graham Reilly
13.Steven Bray
14.Joe Sheridan
15.Cian Ward

Is Paddy Gilsenan suspended for the next match considering his red card ?

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 1018 - 05/02/2012 19:49:02    1106043

3 people dropping Gilsenan?

Can't get my head around that one. By far the most consistent performer so far this year..

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 05/02/2012 20:32:48    1106105

Would keep same team as BigJoe14 but would definitly have chris o connor at 7.Hope eoin reilly gets gametime.

ClonardLad (Meath) - Posts: 57 - 05/02/2012 20:55:14    1106128

Good performance against Monaghan but by no means great! Westmeath could be a whole different game so Meath better be aware of this.
I'd go for this 15 against Westmeath,
1. Gallagher
2. Lenihan
3. Reilly (if fit)
4. O'Brien
5. O'Connor
6. McAnarney
7. Burke
8. Mento
9. Walsh
10. E.Reilly
11. C.Ward
12. Biggy
13. Paddy G
14. Bray
15. D.Tobin

I think Banty should give Mento a chance in mid-field along with walsh because one both need game time out there and also Kevin needs game time before any of the bigger teams in the league.
Mickey Burke in place of McGuiness because i think with Burke and O'Connor we have better defending/attacking options with them and also McGuiness just hasn't been playing well.
I would have Eoin Reilly Ward and Biggy on the 40 as all our attacking and direct forwards who can take on defenders and score. Also with Gallaghers long kick-outs he could use Reilly as another option to kick to. Ward is also like a play-maker who can set up scores with accurate passes.
Then in the FF line I would bring Tobin out to play as a sweeper with a 2 man FF line of Paddy and Bray and if we let in fast accurate passes they'll be able to take on anyone and score

RoyalBuck (Meath) - Posts: 26 - 05/02/2012 21:03:17    1106141

Eoin Reilly based on what lads? Hope Banty plays him once just to get gis HS action group to calm down.

Just on another point lads, would I be wrong in saying that Meath haven't won a NFL game away from home since 2008? Be nice if they put a few consecutive wins together in the Spring and maybe build some confidence for later.

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 05/02/2012 21:09:27    1106153

Is paddy gilsenan suspended? If not he is first name on sheet
And yeah its been awhile since win on road but honestly they wmeath team without garycastle players would struggle against kilkenny
Which is a pity but its a fact.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/02/2012 21:59:57    1106224

Jinxie: The only reason I am mentioning Gilsenan is if he is suspended - just not sure if he is suspended for one match after being sent off. I have been to every game this year by the way.

aodhanomaonaigh (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 06/02/2012 08:58:37    1106235

aodhanomaonaigh

But sure it was only 2 yellows. Why would he be suspended?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 06/02/2012 09:39:17    1106250

We dont need many changes to the starting 15 going into the Westmeath game,I would personally make a couple of switches

1.Gallacher
2.Menton
3.Reilly (If fit)..if injured would move Menton to .3 and bring Burke in at .2
4.O,Brien
5.Lenihan
6.McInarney
7.McGuiness
8.Meade
9.Ward
10.Kenny
11.Bray
12.Reilly
13.Gilsenan
14.Sheridan
15.Ward

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1178 - 06/02/2012 10:05:16    1106272

Jinxie, I thought the rules changed in terms of yellow cards and red cards for the league. As I said in my original post I would only change Gilsenan if he was suspended.

aodhanomaonaigh (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 06/02/2012 10:07:03    1106273

aodhanomaonaigh

First I heard of it.
I know the idea of introducing match bans were being muted, but I heard nothing of 2 yellows bringing a suspension.

I could be wrong tho.

It would be very harsh if it was brought in. So refs hand out yellows for a simple tug of the shirts, to start missing games over that, while more serious fouls are going unpunished would be very harsh.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 06/02/2012 10:27:04    1106282

Drop Gilsenan??? I got a laugh out of that one,plus Gillespie for Ward? Ward is our best midfielder currently available,at leeast he competes for the ball.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/02/2012 10:46:25    1106300

agree with Jinxie ,anyone see what Connolly done against Kildare in the O'Byrne Cup? I see not many mention Meade in their selections,I have been saying this for some time,usually getting slagged about it..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/02/2012 10:50:46    1106305

Gillespie has got to be ahead of Walsh, for jaysus sake lads what ye looking at?

Harribo (USA) - Posts: 28 - 06/02/2012 12:30:11    1106407

Harribo

Couldnt agree there.

At least Walsh looked interested in getting into the game when he came on.

Gillespie has had 3 starts and one sub appearance so far this year and have been in my opinion poor in all of them.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 06/02/2012 13:03:53    1106432