New Players For Meath

Its time to stop moaning about 2010. A poor Meath setup got lucky in a massive way and beat the Dubs and we have to admit it lucky to beat a poor Louth team. Offaly and Laois are no yard stick to measure us by more so the poor preformances v Down, Donegal and Tipperary in the League.

New players are needed. I taught 2 players really stood out in Navan last weekend Lenihan the Skyrne cenre back and Donal Keoghan from Rathkenny both young lads who should get a call up. Damien Carroll Ballinabrackey was outstanding in Junior Quarter final and he too looks like he could make the grade.

Havoc (Meath) - Posts: 296 - 26/08/2010 20:02:31    757325

How are the league games more of a yardstick than the championship games?
How were we Lucky to beat Dublin?

As for new players,
Menton deserves to be looked at.
Lenihan should get a run too & try him.
Paddy Smyth if he's willing to give it a shot.
McGill if that mess can be fixed

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 26/08/2010 20:28:30    757346

I realise over all it may of seemed like a bad season, but this is all being based on the Leinster Final, we beat Dublin well and also played very well that day, it would be unfair to say otherwise.

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 27/08/2010 11:30:47    757618

From within the panel id say Davy Dalton will make a serious push for a coner back spot. Alan Nestor could be looked at. Allthough we have good fowards i think this lad could still make it into the first 20 next year. Thats just two but im sure a few more will be tryed out in the O Byrne cup.

Saintfootball (Meath) - Posts: 29 - 28/08/2010 12:21:53    758487

we need mcguiness fit at center back o,brien as proved himself this year maybe move kenny back to half back would like to se brian sheridan in the o byrne cup and league see how he goes

meath1234 (Meath) - Posts: 203 - 28/08/2010 13:21:25    758525

We need pace, pace and more pace.
Nestor at wing forward would be a great start.
Let Kenny drop back to wing-back.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 28/08/2010 13:47:31    758545

dont think nestor will be back for a while got a bad leg break last year

meath1234 (Meath) - Posts: 203 - 28/08/2010 20:13:14    758777

Do ye think that David Bray will get back on the team next year? I still think he could be a real asset to the team when he gets back to full fitness.

Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 28/08/2010 20:33:27    758792

whats the point of new players when the present management wont use the panel they had this year and are very loyal to lads on the the no matter how they are playing

just.john (Meath) - Posts: 97 - 28/08/2010 20:41:38    758798

meath1234

You must not follow club football. Nestor played the last two rounds of SFC for Blackhall. He looked sharp and its a credit to the man how quick he made a good recovery.

Saintfootball (Meath) - Posts: 29 - 28/08/2010 21:16:13    758822

terry skelly, tom walsh and gerard farrelly

bennyblanco (Meath) - Posts: 579 - 28/08/2010 21:49:12    758861

Mark Collins from Duleek/Bellewstown if its pace we are looking for. Had a bad game against Rathkenny by his standards but apart from that, would add pace as a wing forward, similiar to Nestor.

DowdtoFoleyGoal (Meath) - Posts: 292 - 29/08/2010 09:32:19    758896

agree wit dowdetofoley Mark Collins from Dul/Bel or Sean Dalton from Summerhill.both are young but have pace and are at the right age to bring into the set-up

Meath96 (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 29/08/2010 13:20:39    759016

If its pace and skill your looking for ciaran ellis and sean curran from don/ash are well worth a look.
davy dalton would be a killer corner forward

dona (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 29/08/2010 13:38:39    759031

Saintfootball

758822 meath1234

You must not follow club football. Nestor played the last two rounds of SFC for Blackhall. He looked sharp and its a credit to the man how quick he made a good recovery.

I actually think Nestor would make a very good wing-back for Meath. He's played centre-back for Blackhall before, (u21 possibly) but would probably enjoy the freedom that comes with playing in the wide areas of the pitch. Would bring some much needed pace and panache to a very predictable half-back line. We need a serious injection of pace and creativity here.

Ollie99 (Meath) - Posts: 442 - 30/08/2010 18:06:19    760554

id like to see some of the lads that were on the panel but never got a look in all championship to have a good run.weve a panel of thirty and in every game played the same subs!

stamullenman (Meath) - Posts: 392 - 31/08/2010 13:57:08    761334

good minors this year maybe give them a run in o byrne cup

hoganstandboy19 (Meath) - Posts: 76 - 31/08/2010 14:05:31    761346

yes we need new players all over the field the team has been practically the same for the last 4 years or so with the exception of graham reilly..i dont really know where the new players are going to come from..look where it got dublin this year where only 6 players who started this years q final started last years one..change is needed or well keep bei ng a mediocre team

sam1996 (Meath) - Posts: 436 - 31/08/2010 14:14:48    761356

davy dunne -curragha worth a shot!

the seal (Meath) - Posts: 583 - 31/08/2010 14:45:51    761411

I was at the tones stown game and the stand out player for me was Stephen Sheppard. I think he is definately worth a try next year, and also Macken(not sure of his first name) from Rathkenny is playing well at number 6.

MinorStar (Meath) - Posts: 294 - 31/08/2010 15:35:54    761477