Meath Football and its Fans

It amazes me to read the nonsense on another thread here about Meath since Saturday night, ye should all just relax, and calm down, the simple fact is we dont have the quality in the county to replace players who are not playing well. You could have Jose Mourinho managing the team and he could'nt do any better, well he might have a better game plan, we had all these trials to find new players and how many did they find, 4 or 5 at the most, that is not good enough.

Niall McKeigue in my opinion should'nt be on the panel, but as there is nobody better, except for maybe Cormac McGill who i believe was told he'd be number 25-26 on the panel, but as he's not around, McKeigue has to play. James Macken is struggling big time but again as there is nobody better he has to play and everybody is saying oh we hope Kevin Reilly is back soon. Well i remember when the same people said he wasnt that great either, how absense makes the heart grow fonder.

People now want Joe and Queeney swapped around, believe me Sheridans beat position is full forward, he got 1 good ball Saturday night and got a goal, after that how many did he get, not many to say the least. They want Mark Ward dropped, even though he's playing well at the minute, they complain about his distribution well next time he catches the ball, look at the forwards and see who's moving and looking for a pass. People want Brendan Murphy in goals even though Lyons saved us against Dublin in Parnell Park and at the hospital end Saturday night. They want Moyles dropped even though he's probably the only one who can pick out a pass, the rest pump it up in the sky or pass it around to nearest free man.

As for the ''supporters'' or the ''home matches brigade'' as I call them, look we all know who they are, they'll be 1st out the gate complaining and 1st in line looking for a ticket to the leinster final and what summed up there intelligence for me was when i had to inform this very loyal supporter the other night that the chap he was shouting abuse at was not Damo Sheridan as he taught but it was in fact Mark Ward. He walked away fairly quickly.

The.Rock (Meath) - Posts: 582 - 08/03/2010 14:28:50    582036

Was about to post and start a new thread on Joe Sheridan here, but this will do. Agree with your sentiments 100%! For the record have never never booed or given out about any of our players in a personal way. We sit back, at home most nights, drink our pints at times, give up little of our social life for Meath football and should go and support our County through thick and thin.

Yes, I will give out when a player makes a bad pass, kicks a silly wide, but it ends there. Yes I will say X is not good enough to be on the panel or team, but will shout him on to play well.

But, back to Big Joe, could not make the match Sat because of family problems, but went for a pint at 10 when some of the lads were in the local post match. The amount of abuse levlelled at him was unbelieveable, from not not trying, not being committed etc. I walked away in disgust to be honest.

Support your county and the players, admit they had a bad game at times, but to belittle them, to those lads who train and work so hard is not on!

bogger from meath (Meath) - Posts: 231 - 08/03/2010 20:14:27    582598

I don't think it was Joe's falt that he played bad as the ball into him at times was awful.The one good ball they got into him he got a goal out of it.I feel his best position is Centre half-forward as he does work very hard when he is at centre-half forward as he is resticted to staying forward when he is at full-forward.Remember Joe against Mayo going back into defence and driving the ball 50-60 yards up the field,and agaisnt Dublin when he came on he showed great spirit and balls when he came on and he tried to galvanise the team.Lay off the man.When championship football comes Big Joe will be on fire as he is made for those hot summer days in Croke Park.

12Royal (Meath) - Posts: 987 - 08/03/2010 20:28:56    582637

I agree that its an absolute disgrace and I remember going mad at one fella on the hill at the Kerry game over him giving out about a meath player, it's one thing I cannot stand.

Unfortunately 12royal it isn't the championship and we need that side to Joe now not then...

itsgreenandgold (Meath) - Posts: 312 - 08/03/2010 20:47:38    582671

I don't like slating any Meath players but I was so annoyed walking out of Pairc Tailteann on Saturday. I haven't been reading many of the threads on here about it because I really don't have the energy. No player should be publically slated through any medium by anyone, they're not professional sports people and they only do it for the love of the game. They've had a couple of very bad matches but I do think it'll all come together for the 23rd of May. They're working out the kinks at the moment and still trying some new players. Nothing's written in stone yet so we should all just relax the cacks and see how it goes.

Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 08/03/2010 20:53:17    582679

I agree Royal_Girl2k9 lets just cool the jets and lets just move on and let them focus on the Tipp game.

12Royal (Meath) - Posts: 987 - 08/03/2010 21:11:02    582709

its not really fair to have a go at people for only going to the home games, people do have a life outside of GAA and it may not suit them to be heading to Newry, etc. on a saturday evening.

But I agree completely that far 2 much abuse is being thrown at our own lads. Its as clear as day that some of the current panel are not good enough to be on it and the management are the only ones who can take responsibility for that

Ochocinco (Meath) - Posts: 82 - 08/03/2010 21:50:38    582768

OK, I'm beginning to get sick of some people on this forum. We have players who are putting their hearts and souls into playing for our county team, who rarely go out, who can't sit in and watch their favourite tv shows, who can't come home from work and relax for the evening. These lads don't deserve the slack they are getting here, no player goes out to make a mistake in any game. During a lull in the game, we, the 'fans', need to get behind the lads and cheer them on. I've never been more embarrassed to be a Meath fan than the other night when people around me were roaring abuse at some of our players, especially someone like McKeigue who arguably was our best and stickiest defender in the 00's, and who still has a very important role to play in this team. I see on the under 21 thread, some lads getting slating as well, lads of 19, 20, 21...that's not fair. Imagine you reading your name like that, can't be helpful.
Yes, constructive criticism is welcome, but to come on and say "such and such is not good enough" especially when a few months ago the same people were saying they should definitely be on the panel, for instance, after 08 championship final when Barry Regan had a man of the match performance everyone here saying he was a shoe-in to start for Meath, it hasn't happened for him but in fairness he never really got a good run at it.
If you're going to say someone is not good enough, at least give 2 or 3 viable replacements from around the county who are not on the panel, and no point in sayin McGill for example because he dropped himself off the panel after not getting a fair crack at it, and I can see exactly where he is coming from, I felt after Wexford he would be a regular starter and it's a pity it hasn't worked out for him but hopefully we will see him again in a Meath jersey very soon

updaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 1132 - 09/03/2010 08:46:12    582805

updaroyal, when i say mckeigue should'nt be on the panel, i'm going by his performances over the last 2-3 years, yes he was a very good corner back in the early to mid 00's, but i dont think he should be a starter anymore, but in saying that you are right he has still an important role to play because, like i also said if there is nobody better, which there does'nt seem to be, he has to play and i will support him

The.Rock (Meath) - Posts: 582 - 09/03/2010 10:41:45    582899

Ye these people slating players to the bone is taking it too far.These are the people who say were not going to win anything.We lost the Dublin match last year before it was played and the point at the end that never was plus the 2minutes? injury time that was given i felt we were unlucky not to get a draw,And the people who had no hope before that game were probably the first to get their tickets to the mayo match.I think we should believe in our team a bit more?

royal7 (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 15/05/2010 21:36:49    648181

Colm O'Rourke reckons we'll be contenders again in the next decade. I really hope so. Is he going to manage us at any stage I wonder

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 466 - 16/05/2010 21:12:50    649013

Loyalroyal. No sorry he wont because he'l be managing Laois at some stage... You heard it here first!

Markymark (Laois) - Posts: 644 - 17/05/2010 11:05:32    649276

The next decade what when our under 14s come through the ranks?O Rourke would be a good manager would be dissapointed if he went to laois

royal7 (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 20/05/2010 15:25:29    653511