NFL Round Three: Meath v Kildare

Bernard Brogan, Alan Brogan, Michael Murphy, Paddy Bradley, Stephen O'Neill, Owen Mulligan, Donnacha O'Connor, Colm Cooper, Declan O'Sullivan and Darren O'Sullivan are all better players than our best forward (whoever that is).
And that is by no means an exhaustive list, just the first ten that popped into my head.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 15/02/2012 17:07:44    1112416

Kildare have a shortage of really good scoring forwards. On the other hand they have plenty of versatile players who can slot into a role here and there. As a result they will be consistently good, once they get some momentum going. So they will get so far and then fall short, when they meet a good battle hardened team.

What did Colm O'Rourke say about Dublin a few years ago? A team that's destined for glorious failure. The Dubs have put that right, so I guess it applies to Cill Dara now! (LOL)

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 15/02/2012 17:14:08    1112420

I'd add Sheehan, C. O'Neill, Johnston, Coulter, Doyle S. O'Neill and Connolly to the above list for a start.

Lads, footballers as good as Bray and Reilly are rare but to think either is amongst the top 10 forwards is just delusional. When you talk about a top 10, then you talk about players with All-Ireland medals, AllStars and Player of the Years. Bray might make the top 20 or 25 on account of his 2007 form if you are optimistic. You just have to look at the players Sean Boylan has asked to play for him in the Interprovincials. Both Brogans are there, Diarmuid Connolly, Doyle, McMenamin, Glynn, Cullen all there. And Joe Sheridan. That will give you guys an idea where the Meath forwards rank in Sean Boylan's mind.

Meath people think Meath have good forwards. The reality is we have do have some excellent footballers but they lack leadership, an understanding of one another and willingness to battle when the going gets tough - a quality every Kildare forward possesses.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 15/02/2012 18:15:03    1112482

I agree ziggy. And to be fair we have a lot better forwards than them or they wouldn't be looking for seannie johnston
I'm just so sick of there deluded views it was funny in the beginning that they believed they are better than they are the we will win sam and we are all ire champs only for meath man etc etc
It just got irritating and I have been accused of been anti kildare but I'm honestly not. Just sick and tired of deluded ideas

The irony!

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 15/02/2012 18:21:24    1112489

Loyaltothelillies. (That has to be your new name)

If kildare are soooooo god as you maintain why have the not won anything
Point 2 if no one on hear has a sense of humor I cannot help that. I posted that original remark on the kildare forum to get a reaction and I did. It was funniest thing in ages. (Had a quite day in work). 3 yes as a unit we have a very strong base of 6 extremely good forwards. Now the rest of team are not at the races at this stage
4. What's this love in between you and kildare ? I know its valetines season but seriously man I'm worried about you
5 are kildare top 4 team? Are they the real ai champs only for bad decisions? Please answer either.
On happier note I have not seen so many blow there top since louth. Fantasti hahahahaha

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/02/2012 20:54:28    1112608

So loyal are you really from the short grass?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/02/2012 21:00:25    1112612

I'm only messin with you loyal. But I really was wondering with all the deluded kildare fans going on about this that and the other how the would react if someone else posted something just as absurd. And I couldn't have done it better

Onto more serious stuff hear are the latest odds on div 2. What yous think?
National Football Le...

GAA - Footb...

03/03/2012 19:00

Outright Betting

Each Way Odds 1/3 places 1,2

Tyrone
10/11
Meath
10/3
Galway
5/1
Kildare
8/1
Monaghan

9/1
Derry
22/1
Louth
25/1
Westmeath
500/1

And if someone tells me to put money on kildare. I will post that we have the best midfield in country too lol

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/02/2012 21:17:53    1112625

Royaldunne, You should definatly put your house on Kildare garenteed to win in outright without breaking a sweat, well when we get that massive point advantage in Navan. another opening penalty would be lovely too maybe loyal you can arrange that given your divided loyalties Cill Dara Abu!!!!! Meath midfield the best god royaldunne they wouldn't even compete with Barney.

Lovelylillies (Kildare) - Posts: 230 - 16/02/2012 10:40:11    1112716

Lovelylillies

What's the story with all the Meath bashing lately(especially on threads that have nothing to do with Meath),grow up,and he's only joking about our midfield,fact is neither Kildare or Meath are capable of winning the All-Ireland,so come back down from your high horse

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 16/02/2012 11:49:19    1112758

God somebody lost their sense of humour liven up Ziggy nothing ever wrong with a bit of banter, I am fully aware of the potential of Kildare and our possibility of success and how the papers can fill people full of crap, they had spent 16 years doing it with Dublin.

Lovelylillies (Kildare) - Posts: 230 - 16/02/2012 13:39:42    1112856

Ah lovelylillies glad to see someone from kildare can have the craic too.
But in seriousness your right about the media and dublin for last 16 years. And will continue too
Look honestly I really don't have any problem with kildare. I do think your short a couple of forwards. And this is where I think many might disagree I believe mcgeeney can bring yous no further a bit like pillar in dublin just can't finish the job. That's just my opinion

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/02/2012 14:45:00    1112906

put it this way lads kildare are no good

brackey10 (Meath) - Posts: 6 - 16/02/2012 15:29:59    1112941

Brackney10 just stop talkin through your backside.Royaldunne No doubt we are missing a couple of good finishers, especially in the goals department, just can't believe that people think JD is the only forward we have, there are players like Leper and Conway there that are good too. Our problem is that we are playing on of our best forwards in the half back line with o'flaherty. I don't think that McGeeney is the problem just the quality of our forwards at present, which is why I am against the incoming SJ as I believe that this will stunt the development of Kildare footballers. Unfortunatly going to have to suffer the Dublin hype again after they finally won the Sam. Just don't think they will be the ones to win it again this year.

Lovelylillies (Kildare) - Posts: 230 - 16/02/2012 16:08:02    1112974

I do agree completely re players playing out of position and with sj coming in I think it will hinder th fringe players too. I will concede that my judgment on mcgeeney is probably clouded over the whole sj thing. I was very outspoken on walsh from carlow to kilkenny and padden from mayo to armagh. I'm of the old school by all means if work etc determains that you have to change clubs but I see no reason why you change counties. And as a fact my dislike of that started in the 80s with tompkins and fahy from kildare to cork. And I'd be of same view if it was happening in meath. Just don't like it. Now I know sometimes there are exceptions but just can't see it this time. Yes he out of favour with cavan management but in fairnes that management will change and more likely sooner than later. But I have said this on every thread that this has been brought up on.
So I've said enough about it. See you in navan on the 3rd

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/02/2012 17:53:22    1113067

who is leper? What's his real name?

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 16/02/2012 18:45:54    1113117

Eammon Callaghan.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 16/02/2012 19:09:46    1113136

royaldunne, I think you will find that Walsh left Carlow for Wicklow. Not even a Meath man could begrudge Kilkenny a good footballer surely! I believe Padden married an Armagh woman and moved there to live near her family. His case is a lot more straightforward than Johnson's.

murof (Kildare) - Posts: 480 - 16/02/2012 21:53:00    1113308

This isn't soccer your county is your county full stop in my opinion some people talk about moving for work family etc Johnston isn't one of these. Just don't understand how a player can in any circumstance turn his back on his county regardless of management or distance. I play county football and travel 190 miles to training 5 times a week because my county is my county, it's part of who you are.

Lovelylillies (Kildare) - Posts: 230 - 17/02/2012 10:01:39    1113362

Lovelylillies

1113362 This isn't soccer your county is your county full stop in my opinion some people talk about moving for work family etc Johnston isn't one of these. Just don't understand how a player can in any circumstance turn his back on his county regardless of management or distance. I play county football and travel 190 miles to training 5 times a week because my county is my county, it's part of who you are.

Add to that the possibility of a Cavan v Kildare qualifier in the next couple of years? Its not impossible to comprehend, so what happens on that day? Are you getting 100% from him in that game?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 17/02/2012 10:18:04    1113376

Personally think that he couldn't give Kildare his best in that situation

Lovelylillies (Kildare) - Posts: 230 - 17/02/2012 10:53:58    1113415