Geraghty: Selector or Footballer?

I'm opening no can of worms but merely stating that a selector does not need to be "high profile local..." as you suggested earlier. He's got Tom Keague there who I don't know much about and he doesn't have the dilemma of having to pick himself or Cian Ward on the starting XV. I believe Martin McElkennon is also a selector so how many does Banty really need. He should have a good idea of the players at his disposal at this stage.

Anyway back to my original point I firmly believe that you have to be one or the other and 99% of club teams in the county wouldn't entertain the notion of a player also acting as a selector. Would you be happy if you were on the fringes of the team and Mr player/selector was putting himself in ahead of you? Don't think it's fair on either the ordinary players or the man in the dual role.

I also don't buy your conspiracy theories that lads won't go forward as it puts them out of the frame to manage the team in future and out of loyalty to old colleagues. I think that's nonsense and many would be prepared to step up to the plate for the good of Meath GAA and not look to challenge Banty. Did he even ask anyone else - it would appear as if he didn't. I don't fully blame Graham for this, while I feel he should have stepped aside himself when he knew he was going to play on in 2012 I also feel that Banty is wrong to put him in this position of conflict.

The_Ripper (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 20/02/2012 16:33:06    1115065

I'm actually in agreement with you that he should give his entire focus to one role, not two and choose whether he is a player or selector. I think what is playing out is that Graham really wants to be a player first and foremost, but Banty wants him there as his other local selector. He's young in terms of backroom staff and less likely to rock the management boat (than a more experienced or senior local might) especially while still having playing ambitions.

What I do disagree with you on, is that friendships, loyalties and politics play a part (at some level), when it comes to management. Having a management team of relative strangers isn't ideal. It is better if a manager has his own backroom team, having worked together in the past and a good working relationship and mutual respect.

A manager should do what's best for the team, not their own interests. They should acknowledge their own limitations, and delegate certain roles which play out to other peoples strengths. Also have the humility to embrace the ideas of others and not be close minded. Our next manager and his team will be an even more important appointment than the current one and I'd say quite a few possible selectors, were and are content to let the current set up run its course (whether than be hopefully success but possibly relative failure), before renewing any hands-on interest in same.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 20/02/2012 17:32:51    1115110

I am not very compfortable with him ion the role to be honest. He can not be looking at picking the team of making substitutions with an honest opinion if he is eager to get on. Nothing wrong with him wanting to play I just hope that he doesnt make or encourage a bad decision on the line. He would be suited as a target man but if he is going in corner forward and there is a young fast guy who may roam up the field then we have problems

meathlondon (Meath) - Posts: 23 - 22/02/2012 13:29:46    1115967

no i dont think he can do both..he has to be seen as partial to the cause..

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 22/02/2012 13:53:26    1115986

I would question whether he is the right man for either role. The fact that he's trying to do both just highlights the kind of system that Banty likes to operate in my opinion.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 22/02/2012 17:42:13    1116180

I reckon a selector as it give the chance for other players to come through to challenge for a place on the starting XV

Sheenjr (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 28/02/2012 14:32:37    1119094

loyaltotheroyal...your username seems quite ironic in relation to the way u speak about your belief or trust in those who are in charge of our team....just another one who likes to find things to disagree with as you have no idea about footballing matters whatsoever...what evidence so far is there to suggest that graham cannot do both? at least wait until something might actually go wrong before ye start criticising banty and his selectors/players

iamlegend (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 28/02/2012 17:14:25    1119236