Team for Waterford

its hard to tell what team will eob wil name, but personally id be happy with something like this
gallagher
mcgill
reilly
harrington
shane mcanarney
cormac mc guinness
king
ward
crawford
byrne
ward
david bray
farrell
joe
queeney

a few explanations, i dont know how stephen bray is getting with his injury thats why i didnt include him theres no point in rushing the lad back when hopefully we'll have harder games in the weeks to come. I didnt include kenny simply because i dont see him and mcanarney working at half forward, kings a solid half back, and based on the performance from kenny and mcanarney against dublin i think mcanarney was better that day,at the same time i'd be happy to see kenny start with shane on the bench. No moyles-i think the best place for moyles is chb but i think if given a decent chance at chb cormac mcguinness will shine there. david bray and jamie queeney- i want to see what these boys are able to do at senior level, and i think its a good game to start them off. i wouldnt mind seeing orourke in nets but his kickouts need to be changed up a bit, i read that gallagher was off the panel if this is the case then id slot orourke. i didnt include shane orourke in this either for the same reasons as stephen bray

an_mhi (Meath) - Posts: 154 - 24/06/2009 00:05:10    321380

Id say moyles will definitely be playin anyway

clubman17 (Meath) - Posts: 109 - 24/06/2009 16:59:11    321983

I doubt he will make too many changes, in fact I'd say if all are fit he will go for nearly the same 15... Personally I'd have

O'Rourke

Harrington
Reilly
McGill

Kenny
Moyles
King

Crawford
Ward

Byrne
Ward
McAnerney

Bray
Farrell
B.Sheridan

Big Joe as an impact sub.

Just wondering could Brian Meade or even Barry Regan be used as a Full Forward in peoples opinion?

Big Dave (Meath) - Posts: 172 - 24/06/2009 17:20:44    322012

In my opinion the team should resemble this 15:
O'Rourke
O'Connor
Reilly
Harro
Kenny
McGuinness
King
Ward
Crawford
D Bray
Moyles
Byrne
Ward
Big Joe
Farrell
Didnt pick brayer as I dont think management will risk him for this game as we should win without him.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 24/06/2009 18:01:02    322056

Very good side Big Dave the only change I would have would be Gallagher for O'Rourke, that's provided that Gallagher was available. There are others I would have liked to have seen earlier in the year, to see how they'd fair out, but it's too late for too much experimenting now, but appart from that your 2 to 15 is the best options Meath have available.

hootervillian (Meath) - Posts: 310 - 24/06/2009 18:04:29    322061

O' Rourke
McGill, Reilly, Harrington
Kenny, Moyles, King
Crawford, Mark Ward
McAnarney, Bray (if fit), Byrne
Cian Ward, Joe Sheridan, Farrell

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2024 - 24/06/2009 18:27:26    322079

Yes Big Joe should be full forward.

theblindassasin (Meath) - Posts: 915 - 25/06/2009 12:54:52    322736

o'rourke

harrington reilly mcgill
kenny mcguinness king

cindy moyles

peader cian ward david bray
farrell mark ward/big joe bray

foleysgoal (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 25/06/2009 14:01:17    322811

1.P.O'Rourke
2.C.O'Connor
3.K.Reilly
4.E.Harrington
5.S.Kenny
6.B.Regan
7.C.McGuinness
8.N.Crawford
9.M.Ward
10.B.Sheridan
11.C.Ward
12.P.Byrne
13.D.Bray
14.B.Farrell
15.S.Bray

mightymen08 (Meath) - Posts: 22 - 25/06/2009 14:31:05    322853

Mightmen08

Any reason why you would drop Caomhin King?

What are you justifying David Brays selection on?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 29/06/2009 22:53:20    327104

Folks, does anyone feel Brian Meade or Barry Regan could do a job at full forward for 15 mins if Joe has in fact injured himself?

I've seen Regan there NOM and seen Meade on the 40 for Rathkenny - they would be more natural than King who is a No7 through and through

Big Dave (Meath) - Posts: 172 - 30/06/2009 09:42:52    327317

Apparantly Stephen Bray is definitely out with his hamstring. Barry Regan, Anthony Moyles and Cormac McGuinness are doubtful.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 30/06/2009 13:15:40    327575

get GG out of retirement to scatter a few lads !!!!!!! stick him in full back to break the ball down

IB
xxx

inniskeenbull (Monaghan) - Posts: 682 - 30/06/2009 17:35:41    327952

well bray looks certain to miss it, moyles is doubtful and theres another few names mentioned to have "niggling" injuries, but on the plus side king looks set to be back in the half backs. the injuries are major concern tho considering we'll have only a week in between matches as long as we get by waterford. it is nice not to see farrells name on the injured list though

an_mhi (Meath) - Posts: 154 - 30/06/2009 18:57:36    328038

obviously looks as if mcguinness and moyles are major doubts or he wouldnt have played brian at 6 for both challenges. never seen him there and don't think he should be put there, surely king would be better suited to it and bring kenny and mc anarney back as wing backs.
o rourke
mcgill
reilly
harrington
kenny
king
mcanarney
ward
crawford
byrne
ward
bray
farrell
joe
b sheridan

ggig (Meath) - Posts: 77 - 30/06/2009 21:54:24    328140

Lads, so many of ye keep putting David Bray into your teams. Are ye all O'Mahonys people or what are ye basing it on?

Have to say, I wasnt overlly impressed with him in the games he played this year, although of seeing him playing a cuple of good club games, but its a different level.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 30/06/2009 23:19:27    328219

ah i think david brays worth a shot jinxie, especially with stephen out, granted if it was against a stronger team i'd be a bit more cautious, but considering our injuries, the fact that theres four weeks of games ahead(providing we progress), and that we got an easy draw this round and its at home, i honestly dont see a better time to start a few new emerging players, such as david bray, jamie queeney, and brian sheridan. and for the record i'm not NOM.

an_mhi (Meath) - Posts: 154 - 30/06/2009 23:56:09    328255

Lots of unrealistic things being mentioned above lads-think this would be a better team as a whole..
1.Paddy O'Rourke
2.Cormac McGill
3.Anthony Moyles
4.Eoin Harrington
5.Cormac McGuinness
6.Kevin Reilly
7.Caomhin King
8.Peader Byrne
9.Nigel Crawford
10.Seamus Kenny
11.Joe Sheridan
12.Shane McEnarny
13.Stephen Bray
14.Mark Ward
15.Brian Farrell

Thats not allowing for long term injuries etc but a team like this could work-Seamus Kenny played well a half forward a few years ago and could be used better there than,Mark Ward was tried against Down at 14 and this could suit him,Id like to see Peader Byrne play in the middle..could work?
Overall a good team in my opinion...

keep_the_faith (Meath) - Posts: 400 - 01/07/2009 00:43:43    328299

Keep the faith, How could you justify bringing Kevin Reilly out of Full back, when it's obviously the only position for him in the Meath team, have you seen him at 6 it doesn't suit him at all. As for Moyles at Full back, I thought against Dublin we really started to open them up once Moyles came further out the field.

hootervillian (Meath) - Posts: 310 - 01/07/2009 19:04:49    329144

agree with hootervilian, keep kevin reilly at 3.

thats his only position on the team & moyles is of more use to us out the field. Although I wouldnt mind seeing Brian Sheridan at 6 to see how he fairs out.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 01/07/2009 23:30:29    329407