Goalkeeper pick: Meath's Best Team from our last four All-Ireland wins

March 19, 2020

3 top class keepers from left Cormac Sullivan, Conor Martin and Mickey McQuillan

These are unprecedented quiet times on the GAA front and with no return on the horizon because of Covid-19 we have come up with a novel way to keeping your Royal GAA mind occupied. 

Since 1988 we have won four All-Ireland senior titles. You can have a say in picking our Best XV from that glorious era. 

Starting with the Number 1 jersey

Michael McQuillan was the last line of defence 1987 and 1988 as Cork were defeated on both occasions.

Ballivor clubman Conor Martin took over the number 1 jersey from Donal Smith and Sean Boylan's charges bridged an eight year gap to beat Mayo after a replay 2-9 to 1-11.

Three years later Meath were back in the winner's enclosure and again the auld enemy Cork were seen of in the decider 1-11 to 1-8 with another St Pats clubman, Cormac Sullivan, minding the net in 1999 final.

Make your choice on our facebook page.



Most Read Stories