U16 FL Div 1 Final: Dunshaughlin's day in Navan

May 23, 2019

St Colmcille's Caolan Murphy with Aaron Murphy Dunshaughlin during the Meath U16 Division 1 FL Final at Pairc Tailteann

Dunshaughlin 2-19 St Colmcilles 2-7

Dunshaughlin stunned favourites St Colmcilles to claim the Meath Under 16 Division 1 football league title in ideal conditions at Pairc Tailteann. To view photos click here

The winners had lost out in numerous deciders at Under 12 and 14 levels to the Seasiders but they were not to be denied at the Navan venue.

Dunshaughlin laid the foundations for this success in the opening ten minutes of the first half, racing in to a 2-6 to 0-0 lead with some outstanding football. Aaron Murphy who finished with 1-8 got the games opening goal after 8 minutes and 40 seconds latter they were in for another major when Ruair Kinsella converted a penalty after Joseph Dunne was fouled in the square.

Favourites St. Colmcilles now knew they were in a game and upped the tempo and by the 20th minute they had narrowed the gap to six points with 1-1 from Adam Daly and a brace from the boot of Luke Hanan. Daly's goal came from the penalty spot.

Dunshaughlin replied with pointed efforts from Murphy and John McDonagh before the Cilles got in for their second goal, Conor Power racing through to fire home an unstoppable shot. Dunshaughlin kept responding and further points from McDonagh and Murphy left them with a 2-10 to 2-5 interval lead.

The expected come back from St Colmcilles never materialised as Dunshaughlin totally dominated the second half.

Midfielder Conor Gray was immense all through for the winners and his ability to win aerial possession was one of the highlights of the game. 

The Black and Ambers outscored their opponents 9 to 2 in the second period, all scores coming from the impressive trio of Murphy with 5, McDonagh and Kinsella with 2 apiece to seal a memorable victory.

After the game Minor Board Secretary Brian Kelly presented the U16 Division 1 FL Cup to Dunshaughlin captain Fursey Blake.

Dunshaughlin: Jack Nestor, Cian Edwards, Donagh McCarrick, Alex Arkins, Charlie O'Connor, Fursey Blake, Jared Rushe 0-1, Conor Gray, Calum Deehan, Ruairi Kinsella 1-3, Colm Keane 0-1, John McDonagh 0-6, Aaron Murphy 1-8, Joseph Dunne, Jack O''Riordan. Subs: Robert Carolan, Eoin Gorman, Oliver McEnroe

St Colmcilles: Danny Ehichoya, Sean Horan, Caolan Nulty, James French, Adrian Kavanagh, Godfrey Ehichoya, Conor Power 1-0, Liam Stafford, Sean O'Donoghue, Adam Daly 1-1, Luke Hanan 0-5, Eoghan McCloughan 0-1, Cillian Quigley, Fiachra McNabb, Oisin Murphy. Subs: Ben Maguire, Josh McLoughlin, Evan Moran, Emmet Higgins, Oisin Murphy.

Referee Paddy Clarke Kilmainhamwood

Most Read Stories